Top image

EMBL CouncilCouncil Members

Austria

Dr. Hemma Bauer
Referat II/3
Federal Ministry of Science and Research
Rosengasse 2-6
1014 Vienna, Austria
Tel: +43 1 53120 6213
Fax: +43 1 53120 81 6213
Email: hemma.bauer@bmwf.gv.at

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Veronika Sexl
University of Veterinary Medicine, Vienna
Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Veterinärplatz 1 Geb: HA
1210 Vienna, Austria
Tel: +43 1 25077-2910
Fax:
Email: Veronika.Sexl@vetmeduni.ac.at

1974 – Present

Belgium

Mr. Francois Guissart
Belgian Science Policy Office
231 Avenue Louise
1050 Brussels, Belgium
Tel: +32 2 238 34 86
Fax: +32 2 230 59 12
Email: francois.guissart@belspo.be

Mr. Vincent Meunier
Belgian Science Policy Office
231 Avenue Louise
1050 Brussels, Belgium
Tel: + 32 2 238 34 63
Fax: +32 2 230 59 12
Email: vincent.meunier@belspo.be

Prof. Marc Van Montagu
Institute of Plant Biotechnology Outreach (IPBO)
IIC UGent/VIB
Technologiepark 3
9000 Ghent-Zwijnaarde, Belgium
Tel: +32 9 264 87 26
Fax: +32 9 264 87 95
Email: marc.vanmontagu@ugent.be

1990 – Present

Croatia

Prof. Krešimir Pavelic
University of Rijeka
Department of Biotechnology
Trg brace Mazuranic 10
51 000 Rijeka, Croatia
Tel: +385 51 406 500
Fax: +385 51 406 524
Email: pavelic@biotech.uniri.hr

Dr. Lovorka Barać Lauc
Executive Director
Croatian Science Foundation
Ilica 24
10 000 Zagreb, Croatia
Tel: +385 51 228690
Email: lblauc@hrzz.hr

2006 - Present

Czech Republic

Mrs. Jana Bystřická
Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports
Karmelitská 7
118 12 Praha, Czech Republic
Tel: 
Email:
jana.bystricka@msmt.cz

Denmark

Mr. Troels Tvedegaard Rasmussen
Special Advisor
Danish Agency for Science, Technology and Innovation
Bredgade 40
1260 Copenhagen K, Denmark
Tel: +45 7231 8296
Email: trra@fi.dk

Dr. Jesper Velgaard Olsen
Center for Protein Research
Panum Instituttet
Blegdamsveg 3
2200 Copenhagen, Denmark
Tel: +45 35 32 50 22
Email: jesper.olsen@cpr.ku.dk

1974 – Present

Finland

Prof. Kalervo Hiltunen
Biocenter Oulu and Department of Biochemistry
University of Oulu
P.O.Box 3000
90014 University of Oulu, Finland
Tel: +358 294481150
Fax: +358 8 553 1141
Email: kalervo.hiltunen@oulu.fi

Mr. Jarmo Wahlfors
Director, Health Research Unit
Academy of Finland
POB 131
Hakaniemenrata 6, PO Box 131
00531 Helsinki, Finland
Tel: +358 29 533 5126
Email: jarmo.wahlfors@aka.fi

1984 – Present

France

Dr. Thierry Meinnel
AVIESAN
Directeur de l'ITMO Bases moléculaires et structurales du vivant
Institut des Sciences du Végétal
Bat 23, 1 Avenue de la Terrasse
91198 Gif/Yvette Cedex, France
Email: thierry.meinnel@isv.cnrs-gif.fr

Mr. Jean-Michel Heard
Service Stratégie, Recherche et Innovation
Direction Générale pour la recherche et l'innovation
Ministère de l'enseignement Supérieur et de la Recherche
1, rue Descartes
75231 Paris Cedex 05, France
Tel: +33 1 55559030
Email: jean-michel.heard@recherche.gouv.fr

Dr. Vincent Geli
Institut Jean Paoli et Irène Calmettes - Centre régional de la lutte contre le cancer
27, Boulevard Lei Roure
13273 Marseille Cedex 09, France
Tel: +33 4 91758403
Email: geli@ifr88.cnrs-mrs.fr

1974 – Present

Germany

Dr. Jan Grapentin
Referat 613 - Life Science Research Institution
Federal Ministry of Education and Research
Kapelle-Ufer 1
10117 Berlin Germany
Tel: +49 30 1857 5439
Fax: +49 30 1857 85439
Email: jan.grapentin@bmbf.bund.de

Prof. Dr. Patrick Cramer
Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry
Am Fassberg 11
37077 Göttingen, Germany
Tel: +49 551 201 2800
Email: patrick.cramer@mpibpc.mpg.de

Dr. Volker Wiesenthal
Referat 613 - Lebenswissenschaftliche Forschungseinrichtungen
Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)
Kapelle-Ufer 1
10117 Berlin, Germany
Tel: +49 3018 57 5098
Fax: +49 3018 57 85098
Email: volker.wiesenthal@bmbf.bund.de

1974 – Present

Greece

Mrs. Eftyhia Kolliakou
General Secretariat for Research and Technology/GSRT
Ministry of Education, Life-long Learning and Religious Affairs
14-18 Mesogeion Av.
115 27 Athens, Greece
Tel: +30 210 7458115
Fax: +30 210 7714153
Email: ekol@gsrt.gr

Prof. Charalambos Savakis
BSRC "Alexander Fleming"
PO Box 74145
16602 Varkiza, Greece
Tel: +30 210 8976404
Fax: +30 210 8976405
Email: savakis@fleming.gr

1984 – Present

Iceland

Mrs. Asgerdur Kjartansdottir
Embassy of Iceland
Rond-Point Schuman 11
1040 Brussels, Belgium
Tel: +32 2 238 5000
Fax: +32 2 230 6938
Email: asgerdur.kjartansdottir@utn.stjr.is

Prof. Eirikur Steingrimsson
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Faculty of Medicine
University of Iceland
Vatnsmyrarvegur 16
101 Reykjavik, Iceland
Tel: +354 525 4270
Fax: +354 525 4886
Email: eirikurs@hi.is

Dr. Katrin Valgeirsdottir
The Icelandic Center for Research - RANNÍS
Laugavegi 13
101 Reykjavik, Iceland
Tel: +354 515 5800
Fax: +354 552 9814
Email: katrin@rannis.is

2004 - Present

Ireland

Dr. Marion Boland
Science Foundation Ireland
Wilton Park House
Wilton Place
Dublin 2, Ireland
Tel: +353 1 60 73216
Email: marion.boland@sfi.ie

Mr. Brian Dalton
Office of Science, Technology and Innovation
Department of Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation
23 Kildare Street
Dublin 2, Ireland
Tel: +353 1 6312197
Fax: +353 1 6312812
Email: brian.dalton@djei.ie

2003 – Present

Israel

Dr. Yossi Kalifa
Director of Life Sciences Research
Ministry of Science & Technology
Government Offices, Building 3, Hakirya Hamizrahit,
POB 49100
Jerusalem 91490, Israel
Tel: +972 2 5411126
Fax: +972 2 5322124
Email: yossik@most.gov.il

Prof. Joel Sussman
Director, The Israel Structural Proteomics Center
Dept. of Structural Biology
Weizmann Institute of Science
Rehovot 76100 Israel
Tel: +972 8 934 4531
Fax: +972 8 934 6312
Email: joel.sussman@weizmann.ac.il

1974 – Present

Italy

Dr. Lucia Banci
Professor of Chemistry
Magnetic Resonance Center and Dpt of Chemistry
University of Florence
Via L. Sacconi 6
50019 Sesto Fiorentino, Italy
Tel: +39 055 4574273/63
Fax: +39 055 4574923
Email: banci@cerm.unifi.it

Mr. Fabio Iannaccone
Ministry of Economy and Finance
Via XX Settembre 97
00187 Rome, Italy
Tel: +39 06 4761 3656
Email: fabio.iannaccone@tesoro.it

1974 – Present

Luxembourg

Mrs. Josiane Entringer
Ministère de l'Enseignement Supérieur et de la Recherche
Département Recherche et Innovation
20, Montée de la Petrusse
2915 Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Tel: +352 247 85217
Fax: +352 460 927
Email: josiane.entringer@mesr.etat.lu

2007 - Present

Netherlands

Dr. Jeannette Ridder-Numan
Ministry of Education, Culture and Science
IPC 4100
Rijnstraat 50
2515 XP The Hague, Netherlands
Tel: +31 70 412 4920
Fax: +31 70 412 2525
Email: j.w.a.ridder@minocw.nl

Prof. Gerrit van Meer
Bureau Faculteit Bètawetenschappen
Budapestlaan 6
Kamer 001A
3584 CD Utrecht, Netherlands
Tel: +31 30 253 4628
Fax:
Email: g.vanmeer@uu.nl

1974 – Present

Norway

Dr. Jacob E. Wang
Research Council of Norway
Drammensveien 288
0283 Oslo, Norway
Tel: +47 220 373 25
Email: jew@forskningsradet.no

Prof. Oddmund Bakke
University of Oslo - Department of Molecular Biosciences
P.O Box 1041 Blindern
0316 Oslo,  Norway
Tel: +47 22 85 57 87
Fax: +47 22 85 45 94
Email: oddmund.bakke@imbv.uio.no

1985 – Present

Portugal

Mrs. Ana Paula Castro
Foundation for Science and Technology
Departamento de Relacoes Internacionais
Av. D. Carlos I, 126 - 7º
1249-074 Lisbon, Portugal
Tel: +351 21 392 4392
Fax: +351 21 395 7284
Email: ana.castro@fct.pt

Prof. Maria Carmo-Fonseca
Instituto de Medicina Molecular (IMM)
Faculdade de Medicina da Universidade de Lisboa
Av. Prof. Egas Moniz
1649-028 Lisbon, Portugal
Tel: +351 217 999 411
Fax: +351 217 999 412
Email: carmo.fonseca@fm.ul.pt

Prof. Claúdio Sunkel
Laboratório de Genética Molecular
Instituto de Biologia Molecular e Celular (IBMC)
Universidade do Porto
Rua do Campo Alegre, 823
4150-180 Porto, Portugal
Tel: +351 226 074 900
Fax: +351 226 099 157
Email: cesunkel@ibmc.up.pt

1998 – Present

Spain

Prof. Angela Nieto
Head of Developmental Neurobiology
Instituto de Neurociencias CSIC-UMH
Avda. Ramon y Cajal s7n
03550 San Juan de Alicante, Spain
Tel: +34 965 919243
Email: anieto@umh.es

Dr. Cristina Bauluz
Head of Area - International Relations
Secretariat of State for R+D+I
C/ Albacete, 5 – P5N D10
28027 Madrid, Spain
Tel: +34 91 603 88 67
Fax: +34 91 6037086
Email: cristina.bauluz@mineco.es

1986 – Present

Sweden

Prof. Stefan Hohmann
Department of Chemistry and Molecular Biology
University of Gothenburg
Box 462 - Medicinaregatan 9C
40530 Göteborg, Sweden
Tel: +46 31 360 8488
Fax: +46 31 78 62 599
Email: stefan.hohmann@gu.se

Dr. Maria Thuveson
The Swedish Research Council
Department of Research Funding
Västra Järnvägsgatan 3
101 38 Stockholm, Sweden
Tel: +46 46 222 8570
Fax: +46 46 211 3417
Email: maria.thuveson@vr.se

1974 – Present

Switzerland

Dr. Isabella Beretta
EAER - Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research
SERI - State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation
Effingerstrasse 27
3003 Berne, Switzerland
Tel: +41 31 322 8417
Fax: +41 31 322 7854
Email: isabella.beretta@sbfi.admin.ch

Prof. Damian Brunner
Institute of Molecular Life Sciences - University of Zurich
Winterthurerstrasse 190
Building/Room Y55-L66
8057 Zurich, Switzerland
Tel: +41 44 635 4457
Fax: +41 44 635 6829
Email: damian.brunner@imls.uzh.ch

1974 – Present

United Kingdom

Mr. Bruce Minty
Chief Operating Officer
MRC - Medical Research Council
14th Floor, One Kemble Street
London WC2B 4AN, United Kingdom
Tel:+44 20 76 70 52 74
Email: bruce.minty@headoffice.mrc.ac.uk

Dr. Mark Palmer
Director of International Strategy
MRC - Medical Research Council
14th Floor, One Kemble Street
London WC2B 4AN, United Kingdom
Tel: +44 20 73 95 22 09
Email: mark.palmer@headoffice.mrc.ac.uk

1974 – Present

Argentina (Associate Member State)

Dr. Fernando A. Goldbaum
President of the National Agency for Science and Technology Promotion
Godoy Cruz 2370, 4° Floor (CI425FQD)
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Tel: +54 114899 5300 (int 8000)
Email: fgoldbaum@mincyt.gob.ar

Australia (Associate Member State)

Prof. Richard Larkins
Chair
EMBL Australia Council
Level 1, 30 Collins Street
Melbourne VIC 3000, Australia
Tel: +61 3 9903 8002
Fax: +61 413 433 000
Email: richard.larkins@monash.edu

Ms. Ditta Zizi
Branch Manager
Research and Higher Education Infrastructure Branch
Research and Strategy Group
Australian Government Department of Education
50 Marcus Clarke Street
Canberra ACT 2601, Australia
Tel: + 61 2 6240 8432
Fax:
Email: ditta.zizi@education.gov.au

2008 – Present

Slovak Republic (Prospect Member State)

Prof. Ján Turňa
Vice Director
Comenius University in Bratislava
Faculty of Natural Sciences
Mlynská dolina
842 15 Bratislava 4, Slovakia
Tel: +421 2 60 296 453
Fax: +421 2 65 429 064
Email: jan.turna@fns.uniba.sk

Ms. Anna Juriková
Department of International Cooperation and
International Organisations in Research and Development
Division of Science and Technology
Ministry of Education, Science, Reseach and Sport of the Slovak Republic
Stromová 1
813 30 Bratislava, Slovakia
Tel: +421 2 59 374 717
Fax: +421 2 59 374 721
Email: anna.jurikova@minedu.sk

External Auditors

Netherlands

Mr. Ismael el Barzouhi
Head of National Audit Services
Ministry of Finance - National Audit Service
Rijnstraat 50
2515 XP The Hague, Netherlands
Tel: +31 70 41 22402
Email: i.barzouhi@minfin.nl

Mrs. Ingrid Verkamman
Ministry of Finance - National Audit Service
Rijnstraat 50
2515 XP The Hague, Netherlands
Tel: +31 70 41 22402
Email: m.u.verkamman@minfin.nl