Photo Gallery


Announcement of the winners

About the John Kendrew Award

The John Kendrew Young Scientist Award ceremony was made even more special this year with the attendance of its donor for the decade 2011-2020, Roland Specker, the EMBL Alumni Association board (almost in their entirety), former EMBL group leader Jochen Wittbrodt and an amazing turn-out of EMBL staff.

Jochen's speech struck a particularly special chord with EMBL Administration, as he told the audience that what he misses most about EMBL is the canteen and Administration. "No where do you find a Unit dedicated entirely to facilitate the work of scientists," he explained before moving on to the other many special features of EMBL, namely the culture and language (EMBLish).