Don’t miss this years John Kendrew and Lennart Philipson Awards ceremony on Friday 21 July, 2-4pm, Klaus Tschira Auditorium, EMBL Heidelberg. Winners are Philipp Keller (John Kendrew Young Scientist Award) and Matthias Mann (Lennart Philipson Award). Presenters are Carsten Schulz and Angus Lamond.


Philipp Keller
Predoc, Stelzer group, Cell Biology and Biophysics, 2005-2010.
2017: Group Leader, Janelia Research Campus of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Ashburn, Virginia, USA.

"I am very grateful to receive the John Kendrew award from the institute I owe so much to. The entire EMBL framework, from its exceptional graduate program and collaborative scientific environment to the outstanding researchers I worked with, was instrumental in my training as a scientist and preparing me to be an independent investigator. I am thus happy to see that EMBL has served as an inspiration for other research institutes, including my current home, the Janelia Research Campus."

Former EMBL Cell Biology and Biophysics PhD student, Philipp Keller (2005-2010), has been selected as this year’s John Kendrew Young Scientist Award winner for ground-breaking work on light-sheet microscopy and computational technologies that allow whole-animal imaging. Much of the image analysis software and microscope blueprints developed by Philipp and his team are now in the public domain, and the work has granted him an outstanding record of publications in high ranking journals (40 in the last seven years). Philipp, now Group Leader at the Janelia Research Campus of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, studies early brain development and function. He has co-organized several conference series that have strengthened bonds between EMBL and Janelia Research Campus, and participates in philanthropic activities for children’s science education.


Matthias Mann
Group Leader, Biochemical Instrumentation, 1992-1998
2017: Director, Department of Proteomics and Signal Transduction, Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany; and Programme Director, Novo Nordisk Foundation Center for Protein Research, University of Copenhagen, Denmark

“Mass spectrometry has become an indispensable tool in molecular biology and this could not have happened without the fantastic environment at EMBL. My group greatly benefited from the unique concentration of skills, resources, personalities and ambition that characterised the place then and now. I am very happy that we succeeded in making first mass spectrometry and then proteomics a viable part of the tool kit for biologists and I am especially grateful for Lennart Philipson’s unwavering support of this initially exotic technology and of our group. ”

Matthias Mann, former Group Leader in EMBL’s Instrumentation Programme (1992-1998), has been selected as the 2017 Lennart Philipson Award winner for his pioneering work in the field of mass spectrometry-based proteomics.

Matthias has contributed breakthroughs that have revolutionised proteomics techniques in biomedical laboratories around the world. His contributions include the “peptide sequence tag” approach which allows proteins to be computationally identified by the fragment spectra; nanoelectrospray which allows minute quantities of protein to be tested; and methods for analysing proteins after extracting them from gels.

Since 2005 Matthias has been Director of the Department of Proteomics and Signal Transduction at the Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry in Munich where his group develops and applies methods of mass spectrometry (MS)-based proteomics in a variety of biological areas.

He is also Program Director at the Novo Nordisk Foundation Center for Protein Research at the University of Copenhagen where his Clinical Proteomics group conentrates on large scale analysis of human plasma proteomes.

Matthias Mann interview 2012