Council establishes the Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC), which gives advice to Council, in particular with regard to proposals from the Director General on the realisation of the programme of the Laboratory.

SAC is composed of distinguished scientists appointed in their own right, not as representatives of member states. Membership of the committee is drawn from scientists in a wide range of relevant fields of science in order to cover as far as possible both the field of molecular biology and other appropriate scientific disciplines. After due consultation with, in particular the EMBO Council and appropriate national institutions, the Director General and the Chair of EMBO Council propose to the Council a list of candidates which the Council considers in appointing the members of SAC.

2017 Membership

Kathryn Anderson, New York, United States (2015-2017)*

Nenad Ban, Zurich, Switzerland (2013-2015, 2016-2018)

Elena Conti, Martinsried, Germany (2017-2019)

Susan Gasser, Basel, Switzerland (2016-2018)

Roderic Guigo, Barcelona, Spain (2012-2014, 2015-2017)*

Anthony Hyman, Dresden, Germany (2014-2016, 2017-2019)

Kai Johnsson, Lausanne, Switzerland (2016-2018)

Edda Klipp, Berlin, Germany (2015-2017)**

Daniel Louvard, Paris, France (2012-2014, 2015-2017)*

Jan Löwe, Cambridge, United Kingdom (2017-2019)

Edward Marcotte, Austin, United States (2016-2018) - Vice Chair

Poul Nissen, Aarhus, Denmark (2017-2019)

Paul Nurse, London, United Kingdom (2016-2018) - Chair

Stefano Piccolo, Padua, Italy (2014-2016, 2017-2019)

Alexander van Oudenaarden, Utrecht, The Netherlands (2013-2015, 2016-2018)

Fiona Watt, London, United Kingdom (2016-2018)

* Turning over 31 December 2017 

** Eligible for re-election in June 2017 for a second three-year term 2018-2020

SAC Chairs and Vice Chairs

List of SAC Chairs and Vice Chairs 1977-2017

Rules Establishing the SAC





Michael Thompson
Assistant to the Director General and Head of Council Secretariat
Tel: +49 6221 3878288

Hélène Badey
Senior Administrative Officer Council Secretariat
Tel: +49 6221 387-8229

Fax: +49 6221 3878211