Council establishes the Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC), which gives advice to Council, in particular with regard to proposals from the Director General on the realisation of the programme of the Laboratory.

SAC is composed of distinguished scientists appointed in their own right, not as representatives of member states. Membership of the committee is drawn from scientists in a wide range of relevant fields of science in order to cover as far as possible both the field of molecular biology and other appropriate scientific disciplines. After due consultation with, in particular the EMBO Council and appropriate national institutions, the Director General and the Chair of EMBO Council propose to the Council a list of candidates which the Council considers in appointing the members of SAC.

2016 Membership

Kathryn Anderson, New York, United States (2015-2017)

Nenad Ban, Zurich, Switzerland (2013-2015, 2016-2018)

Naama Barkai, Rehovot, Israel (2011-2013, 2014-2016)*

Denis Duboule, Lausanne, Switzerland (2011-2013, 2014-2016)*

Susan Gasser, Basel, Switzerland (2016-2018)

Roderic Guigo, Barcelona, Spain (2012-2014, 2015-2017)

Anthony Hyman, Dresden, Germany (2014-2016, 2017-2019)

Kai Johnsson, Lausanne, Switzerland (2016-2018)

Edda Klipp, Berlin, Germany (2015-2017)

Daniel Louvard, Paris, France (2012-2014, 2015-2017)

Edward Marcotte, Austin, United States (2016-2018)

Andrea Musacchio, Dortmund, Germany (2011-2013, 2014-2016)*

Paul Nurse, London, United Kingdom (2016-2018) - Chair

Stefano Piccolo, Padua, Italy (2014-2016, 2017-2019)

Michael Snyder, Stanford, United States (2011-2013, 2014-2016)* - Vice Chair

Alexander van Oudenaarden, Utrecht, The Netherlands (2013-2015, 2016-2018)

Fiona Watt, London, United Kingdom (2016-2018)

* Turning over 31 December 2016 

New Members Starting in 2017

Elena Conti, Martinsried, Germany (2017-2019)

Edith Heard, Paris, France (2017-2019)

Jan Löwe, Cambridge, United Kingdom (2017-2019)

Poul Nissen, Aarhus, Denmark (2017-2019)

SAC Chairs and Vice Chairs

List of SAC Chairs and Vice Chairs 1977-2016

Rules Establishing the SAC





Michael Thompson
Assistant to the Director General and Head of Council Secretariat
Tel: +49 6221 3878288

Hélène Badey
Senior Administrative Officer Council Secretariat
Tel: +49 6221 387-8229

Fax: +49 6221 3878211