Professor of Cell Biology and Genetics, Medical Entomologist, Faculty of Medicine Pharmacy and Odonto-stomatology (FMPOS), Bamako, Mali. (1979-2001).

Head, Malaria Research and Training Center (MRTC), at FMPOS, Bamako, Mali (1991-2001).

Research Areas: Malaria vector biology, ecology and genetics; malaria epidemiology, transmission and control.

Director General, National Research Council (CNRST), Bamako, Mali (1986-1991).

Awarded: Etoile d'argent du Mérite National du Mali, 1995.

TWAS Fellow, Elected 1997.

Member of the Ethics Committee of the Faculty of Medicine, Bamako, Mali (1993- 2001).

Member, Scientific Council, West African Organization for Coordination of Control of Endemic Diseases (OCCGE), 1989-1994.

Member of WHO/TDR Steering Committees (FIELDMAL, RSG, AFR) and Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (STAC).

Joined WHO/TDR in June 2001 as Manager of The Steering Committee for Molecular Entomology and Malaria research Coordinator of the UNDP/World Bank/WHO Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases (TDR).