Roland Prinzinger was born on 6 August 1948 in Kirchheim/Teck, Germany. He studied chemistry and biology at the University of Tübingen from 1969-1974, where he received a diploma in biology and his first position as scientific assistant in the Institute of Animal Physiology. In 1984, he moved to Frankfurt/Main where he is the head of the department of Metabolic Physiology in the faculty of biology of the Johann-Wolfgang Goethe University. His main research topics are: Thermoregulation and energetics in animals (especially homeotherms), ornithology, and the theory of aging (what is the clock of our life?). In the field of aging, he mainly worked on the correlation between metabolic rate and life-times (including time duration of embryogeny, post-natal development, etc.). He acted as dean of the faculty from 1997 to 2000, and has been vice- and director of the Institute, treasurer, vice- and president of the German Ornithological Society and is its honorary member; he is national delegate of the Standing Committee of the International Ornithological Congress, corresponding member of the Swiss Ornithological Society, elected member of the Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft der Universität Frankfurt/Main.

He is (co-)author of the following publications:

Der Schwarzhalstaucher Podiceps nigricollis, NBB 521A, Ziemsen-Verlag (1979)
Pestizide und Brutbiologie der Vögel, Kilda-Verlag, (1980)
Stillgewässer-Kataster des Landkreises Ravensburg, Ecol. Birds; Sonderheft (1988) 2. Aufl. Ornithologie
Ornithologie UTB Große Reihe, Ulmer-Verlag (1990)
Das Geheimnis des Alterns: Die programmierte Lebenszeit bei Mensch, Tier und Pflanze, Campus-Verlag (1996)
Das Geheimnis der Lebensenergie. Wie wir länger jung und gesund bleiben, Campus-Verlag (1997)
Avifauna der Stillgewässer des Landkreises Ravensburg. Der Bestand 1998 im Vergleich zu 1985/86, Ökol. Vögel (Ecol. Birds) 21 (1999).

He has written more than 210 scientific papers.

He was awarded the Forschungspreis des Dachverbandes Deutscher Avifaunisten in 1989, Ornithologenpreis der Deutschen Ornithologen-Gesellschaft in 1994, and Preis der 1882-Sparkasse für exzellente Lehre an der Universität in 2003.