More than 120 international researchers, physicians and technicians from five different university institutes and hospitals (Department of Pediatrics, Institute of Pathology, Institute of Microbiology, Department of Internal  Medicine and Institute of Pharmacology) and five different EMBL Units (4 in Heidelberg: Directors’ Research, Cell Biology and Biophysics, Genome Biology and Structural and Computational Biology and 1 in Monterotondo: Mouse Biology) work in nine groups on important molecular medicine topics.

Members: Diseases of mRNA metabolism
(Blood Diseases)
Group Leaders: Matthias Hentze and Andreas Kulozik

Members: Molecular pathogenesis of colorectal cancer and development of novel approaches for early detection, diagnosis and prevention
(Cancer Early Detection)
Group Leaders: Peer Bork and Magnus von Knebel Doeberitz

Members: Molecular mediators of chronic pain
(Chronic Pain)
Group Leaders: Paul Heppenstall, Rohini Kuner and Jan Siemens

Members: Cystic fibrosis / chronic airway disease
(Cystic Fibrosis)
Group Leaders: Carsten Schultz and Marcus Mall

Members: Interfering with assembly and maturation of infectious HIV-1
(HIV 1 formation and its inhibition)
Group Leaders: John A.G. Briggs and Hans-Georg Kräusslich

Members: Iron homeostasis in health and disease
(Iron Homeostasis)
Group Leaders: Matthias Hentze and Martina Muckenthaler

Members: Molecular Pediatric Oncology
(Molecular Pediatric Oncology)
Group Leaders: Jan Korbel and Andreas Kulozik

Members: Early warning signals of aging in human stem cells
(Stem Cells and Aging)
Group Leaders: Anne-Claude Gavin and Anthony D. Ho

Members: Systems Medicine of Cancer Drugs
(Systems Medicine of Cancer Drugs)
Group Leaders: Wolfgang Huber and Sascha Dietrich