Director General

Edith Heard
Edith Heard
Director General

EMBL Heidelberg

Cell Biology and Biophysics

Jan EllenbergJan Ellenberg
Head of Cell Biology & Biophysics Unit
Rainer PepperkokRainer Pepperkok
Director of Scientific Core Facilities and Scientific Services
Claire DeoClaire Deo
Group Leader
Gautam DeyGautam Dey
Group Leader
Alba Diz-MuñozAlba Diz-Muñoz
Group Leader
Anna ErzbergerAnna Erzberger
Group Leader
Simone KoehlerSimone Koehler
Group Leader
Anna KreshukAnna Kreshuk
Group Leader
Simone MatteiSimone Mattei
Team Leader
Pierre NeveuPierre Neveu
Group Leader
Robert PrevedelRobert Prevedel
Group Leader
Jonas RiesJonas Ries
Group Leader
Yannick SchwabYannick Schwab
Team Leader and Head of Electron Microscopy Core Facility
Timo ZimmermannTimo Zimmermann
Team Leader

Core Facilities and Scientific Services

Vladimir BenesVladimir Benes
Head of Genomics Core Facility
Joe LewisJoe Lewis
Head of Chemical Biology Core Facility
Diana OrdonezDiana Ordonez
Head of Flow Cytometry
Kim RemansKim Remans
Head of Protein Expression and Purification Core Facility

Developmental Biology

Anne EphrussiAnne Ephrussi
Director of EICAT, Head of Developmental Biology Unit
Detlev ArendtDetlev Arendt
Group Leader, Senior Scientist and Academic Mentor Postdoctoral Training
Alexander AulehlaAlexander Aulehla
Group Leader and Senior Scientist
Aissam IkmiAissam Ikmi
Group Leader
Nicoletta PetridouNicoletta Petridou
Group Leader
Robert PrevedelRobert Prevedel
Group Leader (affiliated)
Georgia RaptiGeorgia Rapti
Group Leader

Genome Biology

Eileen FurlongEileen Furlong
Head of Genome Biology Unit
Wolfgang HuberWolfgang Huber
Group Leader and Senior Scientist
Jan KorbelJan Korbel
Head of Data Science
Arnaud KrebsArnaud Krebs
Group Leader
Kyung-Min NohKyung-Min Noh
Group Leader
Sinem K. SakaSinem K. Saka
Group Leader
Mikhail SavitskiMikhail Savitski
Team Leader and Head of Proteomics Core Facility
Daniel SchraivogelDaniel Schraivogel
Research Staff Scientist
Oliver StegleOliver Stegle
Associate Group Leader
Lars M. SteinmetzLars M. Steinmetz
Senior Scientist and Director of Life Science Alliance
Nassos TypasNassos Typas
Group Leader and Senior Scientist

Structural and Computational Biology

Peer BorkPeer Bork
Director of EMBL Heidelberg (Scientific Activities)
Christoph MüllerChristoph Müller
Head of Structural and Computational Biology Unit
Olivier DussOlivier Duss
Group Leader
Toby GibsonToby Gibson
Team Leader
Janosch HennigJanosch Hennig
Group Leader
Michael KuhnMichael Kuhn
Research Staff Scientist
Julia MahamidJulia Mahamid
Group Leader
Simone MatteiSimone Mattei
Team Leader
Judith ZauggJudith Zaugg
Group Leader
Georg ZellerGeorg Zeller
Team Leader
Michael ZimmermannMichael Zimmermann
Group Leader

Directors' Research

Matthias HentzeMatthias Hentze
Director, Co-Director of MMPU
Maria LeptinMaria Leptin
EMBO Director
Joel Perez-PerriJoel Perez-Perri
Research Staff Scientist
Tim PollexTim Pollex
Research Staff Scientist
Thomas SchwarzlThomas Schwarzl
Research Staff Scientist

EMBL Barcelona

Kristina HaaseKristina Haase
Group Leader
Miki EbisuyaMiki Ebisuya
Group Leader
James SharpeJames Sharpe
Head of EMBL Barcelona
James SwogerJames Swoger
Head of Mesoscopic Imaging Facility
Vikas TrivediVikas Trivedi
Group Leader


Rolf ApweilerRolf Apweiler
Director of EMBL-EBI
Alex BatemanAlex Bateman
Senior Team Leader - Protein Sequence Resources
Pedro BeltraoPedro Beltrao
Group Leader
Ewan BirneyEwan Birney
Deputy Director General and Joint Director of EMBL-EBI
Alvis BrazmaAlvis Brazma
Senior Team Leader and Senior Scientist
Anthony BurdettAnthony Burdett
Technical Team Leader, Archival Infrastructure and Technology
Sarah ButcherSarah Butcher
Team Leader, Software Development & Ops
Andy CafferkeyAndy Cafferkey
Team Leader
Guy CochraneGuy Cochrane
Team Leader, Data Coordination and Archiving
Fiona CunninghamFiona Cunningham
Team Leader - Variation Annotation
Ian DunhamIan Dunham
Director Open Targets
Tim DyceTim Dyce
Head of Infrastructure Services
Sarah DyerSarah Dyer
Genomics Team Leader
Robert FinnRobert Finn
Team Leader
Tomas FitzgeraldTomas Fitzgerald
Research Staff Scientist
Paul FlicekPaul Flicek
Associate Director of EMBL-EBI Services
Moritz GerstungMoritz Gerstung
Group Leader
Nick GoldmanNick Goldman
Group Leader
Peter HarrisonPeter Harrison
Genome Analysis Team Leader
Matthew HartleyMatthew Hartley
BioImage Archive Team Leader
Henning HermjakobHenning Hermjakob
Head of Molecular Systems
Kevin HoweKevin Howe
Eukaryotic Annotation Team Leader
Zamin IqbalZamin Iqbal
Group Leader
Thomas KeaneThomas Keane
Team Leader - EGA & Archive Infrastructure
Gerard KleywegtGerard Kleywegt
Senior Team Leader
Roman LaskowskiRoman Laskowski
Staff Scientist
Andrew LeachAndrew Leach
Head of Chemistry Services
Rodrigo LopezRodrigo Lopez
Head of Web Production
Geetika MalhotraGeetika Malhotra
Head of Web Development
John MarioniJohn Marioni
Head of Research
Maria-Jesus MartinMaria-Jesus Martin
Team Leader Protein Function - Development
Ellen McDonaghEllen McDonagh
Open Targets Informatics Sci Director
Johanna McEntyreJohanna McEntyre
Associate Director of EMBL-EBI Services
Steven NewhouseSteven Newhouse
Head of Technical Services
Claire OClaire O'Donovan
Head of Metabolomics
Sandra OrchardSandra Orchard
Team Leader, Protein Function Content
Irene PapatheodorouIrene Papatheodorou
Team Leader - Gene Expression
Helen ParkinsonHelen Parkinson
Team Leader Samples Phenotypes & Ontolog
Ardan PatwardhanArdan Patwardhan
Team Leader, Cellular Structure & 3D Bioimaging
Masa RollerMasa Roller
Staff Scientist
Ugis SarkansUgis Sarkans
Technical Team Leader
Janet ThorntonJanet Thornton
Group Leader and Senior Scientist
Virginie UhlmannVirginie Uhlmann
Group Leader
Sameer VelankarSameer Velankar
Team Leader
Juan Vizcaino GonzalezJuan Vizcaino Gonzalez
Team Leader, Proteomics
Andrew YatesAndrew Yates
Team Leader, Genomics Technology Infrastructure

EMBL Grenoble

Shibom BasuShibom Basu
Staff Scientist
Sagar BhogarajuSagar Bhogaraju
Group Leader
Matthew BowlerMatthew Bowler
Staff Scientist
Stephen CusackStephen Cusack
Head of EMBL Grenoble
Wojciech GalejWojciech Galej
Group Leader
Michael HonsMichael Hons
Staff Scientist
Eva KowalinskiEva Kowalinski
Group Leader
Marco MarciaMarco Marcia
Group Leader
José MárquezJosé Márquez
Head of Crystallisation Facility
Andrew McCarthyAndrew McCarthy
Team Leader
Erika PellegriniErika Pellegrini
Research Staff Scientist

EMBL Hamburg

Isabel BentoIsabel Bento
Staff Scientist
Clement BlanchetClement Blanchet
Staff Scientist
Gleb BourenkovGleb Bourenkov
Project Leader
Elizabeth DukeElizabeth Duke
Team Leader
Stefan FiedlerStefan Fiedler
Team Leader
Maria Marta Garcia AlaiMaria Marta Garcia Alai
Head of EMBL SPC Facility
Cy JeffriesCy Jeffries
Staff Scientist
Jan KosinskiJan Kosinski
Group Leader
Christian LöwChristian Löw
Group Leader
Simon Arnold MortensenSimon Arnold Mortensen
Staff Scientist
Thomas R. SchneiderThomas R. Schneider
Joint Head of Research Infrastructures, Group Leader and Senior Scientist
Dmitri SvergunDmitri Svergun
Joint Head of Research Infrastructures, Group Leader and Senior Scientist
David von StettenDavid von Stetten
Staff Scientist
Matthias WilmannsMatthias Wilmanns
Head of EMBL Hamburg


Hiroki AsariHiroki Asari
Group Leader
Olga BorucOlga Boruc
LAR Manager
Ana BoskovicAna Boskovic
Group Leader
Matthieu BoulardMatthieu Boulard
Group Leader
Alvaro Hernan Crevenna EscobarAlvaro Hernan Crevenna Escobar
Head of Microscopy Service
Cornelius GrossCornelius Gross
Interim Head of EMBL Rome
James HackettJames Hackett
Group Leader
Neil Edward HumphreysNeil Edward Humphreys
Head of Gene Editing&Embryology Facility
Emerald PerlasEmerald Perlas
Head of Histology Core Facility
Gerald PfisterGerald Pfister
Head of Flow Cytometry Facility
Robert PrevedelRobert Prevedel
Group Leader (affiliated)
Santiago RompaniSantiago Rompani
Group Leader
James SawitzkeJames Sawitzke
Head of Genetic & Viral Engineering Facility