Location & dates Virtual 17 - 28 Aug 2020
Deadlines Application closed
organiser_EMBO_Course_2017

EMBL Courses and Conferences during the Coronavirus pandemic

With the onsite programme paused, many of our events are now being offered in virtual formats.


Registration is open as usual for many events, with back-up plans in place to move further courses and conferences online as necessary. Registration fees for any events affected by the COVID-19 disruption are fully refundable.


More information for participants of events at EMBL Heidelberg can be found here.

Programme

Got something to say? Tweet it with #EMBOCryoEM

  • The course will start on Monday, 17 August, with a 1-day activity and access to the pre-recorded lectures. It will continue on Sunday, 23 August with the regular programme.
  • The virtual course includes online lectures recorded in the previous course held in 2018, as well as updated lectures, interactive discussion sessions, online practicals and live poster sessions
  • Video conference sessions will be held between 13:00 and 18:00 CEST each day
  • The live practical session will include the choice between single particle and subtomogram image processing    
  • Information on the live stream and access to the discussion platform and digital posters will be provided shortly before the start of the event.
  • Selected participant will have access to the recorded talks 1 week before the start of the event. The talks will be available until the end of the course.

The following times are used in the programme below:

  • Central European Summer Time (CEST): eg. Berlin, Amsterdam Paris
  • Eastern Daylight Time (EDT): eg. New York, Quebec

To find out the equivalent time zone in your location, enter Berlin, the CEST programme time and your city into the Time Zone Converter.

Day 1 - Monday 17 August 2020
TimeSpeaker
14.00 – 16.30 (CEST)
08:00 - 09:00 (EDT)

Welcome & Introduction / IT setup
Carsten Sachse - Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany
John Briggs - MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK
Julia Mahamid - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
Lori Passmore - MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK
Henning Stahlberg - University of Basel, Switzerland

16:30(CEST)
10:00 (EDT)

End of day 1

Day 2 - Sunday 23 August 2020
TimeSpeaker
11:00 - 12:00 (CEST)
05:00 - 06:00 (EDT)
(Pre-recorded talk) Single particle introduction
Bettina Boettcher - University of Würzburg, Germany
12:00 - 13:00 (CEST)
06:00 - 07:00 (EDT)

(Pre-recorded talk) Introduction to cryo-tomography and sub-tomogram averaging
Giulia Zanetti - Birkbeck College, UK

13:00 - 14:00 (CEST)
07:00 - 08:00 (EDT)

Break

14:00 - 15:00 (CEST)
08:15 - 09:00 (EDT)

Three-dimensional EM
Carsten Sachse - Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany

15:00 - 16:00 (CEST)
09:00 - 10:00 (EDT)

An overview of cryo-EM
Richard Henderson - MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK

16:00 - 16:15 (CEST)
10:00 - 10:15 (EDT)

Break

16:15 - 18:15(CEST)
10:15 - 12:15(EDT)

Flash Talks

18:15CEST)
12:15(EDT)

End of day 2

Day 3 - Monday 24 August 2020
TimeSpeaker
11:00 - 12:00 (CEST)
05:00 - 06:00 (EDT)

(Pre-recorded talk) The electron microscope
Juergen Plitzko - Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry, Germany

12:00 - 13:00 (CEST)
06:00 - 07:00 (EDT)

(Pre-recorded talk) Approaches to sample preparation
Lori Passmore - MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK

13:00 - 14:00 (CEST)
07:00 - 08:00 (EDT)
(Pre-recorded talk) Heterogeneity
Slavica Jonic - CNRS and Sorbonne Université, France
14:00 - 16:00 (CEST)
08:00 - 10:00 (EDT)

Panel discussion: Sample preparation and heterogeneity
Panelist:

Wim Hagen - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
Radostin Danev - The University of Tokyo, Japan
Julia Mahamid - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
Jürgen Plitzko - Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry, Germany
Panel host: Lori Passmore - MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK

16:00 - 18:00 (CEST)
10:00 - 12:00 (EDT)

Poster session even numbers

18:00 (CEST)
12:00 (EDT)

End of day 3

Day 4 - Tuesday 25 August 2020
TimeSpeaker
09:00 - 10:00 (CEST)
03:00 - 04:00 (EDT)
(Pre-recorded talk) 4D cryo-EM
Michael Schatz - Image Science, Germany
10:00 - 11:00 (CEST)
04:00 - 05:00 (EDT)

(Pre-recorded talk) Maximum likelihood
Nikolaus Grigorieff - University of Massachusetts Medical School, USA

11:00 - 12:00 (CEST)
05:00 - 06:00 (EDT)

(Pre-recorded talk) Focussed classification/refinement
Sjors Scheres - MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK

12:00 - 13:00 (CEST)
06:00 - 07:00 (EDT)

Break

13:00 - 14:30 (CEST)
07:00 - 08:30 (EDT)

Panel discussion: Single particles and high resolution
Panelist:
Nikolaus Grigorieff - University of Massachusetts Medical School, USA
Arjen Jakobi - Kavli Institute for Nanoscience Delft, The Netherlands
Sjors Scheres - MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, United Kingdom
Panel host: Carsten Sachse - Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany

14:30 - 18:00 (CEST)
08:30 - 12:00 (EDT)

Main practical: Single-particle/Subtomogram averaging
Alister Burt - Institut de Biologie Structurale, France
Daniel Castano-Diez - University of Basel, Switzerland
Christos Gatsogiannis - Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology, Germany
Tim Grant - University of Wisconsin, USA
Nikolaus Grigorieff - University of Massachusetts Medical School, USA
Dari Kimanius - MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK
Thorsten Wagner - Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology, Germany

18:00 - 19:00 (CEST)
12:00 - 13:00 (EDT)
Break
19:00 - 21:00 (CEST)
13:00 - 15:00 (EDT)
Poster session odd numbers
21:00 (CEST)
15:00 (EDT)
End of day 4
Day 5 - Wednesday 26 August 2020
TimeSpeaker
09:00 - 10:00 (CEST)
03:00 - 04:00 (EDT)
(Pre-recorded talk) Heterogeneity and structural disorder
Ali Punjani - University of Toronto, Canada
10:00 - 11:00 (CEST)
04:00 - 05:00 (EDT)

(Pre-recorded talk) Reproducibility approaches to heterogeneity
Pawel A. Penczek - The University of Texas, USA

11:00 - 12:00 (CEST)
05:00 - 06:00 (EDT)

(Pre-recorded talk) High-resolution tomography
John Briggs - MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK

12:00 - 13:00 (CEST)
06:00 - 07:00 (EDT)

Break

13:00 - 14:30 (CEST)
07:00 - 08:30 (EDT)

Panel discussion: Tomography
Panelist:
Alister Burt - Institut de Biologie Structurale, France
Wim Hagen - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
Julia Mahamid - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
Jürgen Plitzko - Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry, Germany
Giulia Zanetti - Institute of Structural and Molecular Biology, UK
Panel host: John Briggs - MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK

14:30 - 18:00 (CEST)
08:30 - 12:00 (EDT)

Main practical: Single-particle/Subtomogram averaging
Alister Burt - Institut de Biologie Structurale, France
Daniel Castano-Diez - University of Basel, Switzerland
Christos Gatsogiannis - Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology, Germany
Tim Grant - University of Wisconsin, USA
Nikolaus Grigorieff - University of Massachusetts Medical School, USA
Dari Kimanius - MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK
Thorsten Wagner - Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology, Germany

18:00 - 19:00 (CEST)
12:00 - 13:00 (EDT)

Free evening / Optional live session on iPoster

21:00 (CEST)
15:00 (EDT)
End of day 5
Day 6 - Thursday 27 August 2020
TimeSpeaker
09:00 - 10:00 (CEST)
03:00 - 04:00 (EDT)
(Pre-recorded talk) Phase plate theory and applications
Radostin Danev - Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry, Germany
Sara Sandin - Nanyang Technological University Singapore, Singapore
10:00 - 11:00 (CEST)
04:00 - 05:00 (EDT)

(Pre-recorded talk) Microscopy
Wim Hagen - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany

11:00 - 12:00 (CEST)
05:00 - 06:00 (EDT)

(Pre-recorded talk) Online microscopy
Henning Stahlberg - University of Basel, Switzerland

12:00 - 13:00 (CEST)
06:00 - 07:00 (EDT)

Break

13:00 - 14:30 (CEST)
07:00 - 08:30 (EDT)

Panel discussion: Validation
Panelist:

Edward Egelman - University of Virginia, USA
Nikolaus Grigorieff - University of Massachusetts Medical School, USA
Ardan Patwardhan - EMBL-EBI Hinxton, UK
Ricardo Righetto -  Helmholtz Zentrum München, Germany
Sjors Scheres - MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK
Maya Topf - Institute of Structural and Molecular Biology, UK
Panel host: Henning Stahlberg - University of Basel, Switzerland

14:30 - 18:00 (CEST)
08:30 - 12:00 (EDT)

Main practical: Single-particle/Subtomogram averaging
Alister Burt - Institut de Biologie Structurale, France
Daniel Castano-Diez - University of Basel, Switzerland
Christos Gatsogiannis - Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology, Germany
Tim Grant - University of Wisconsin, USA
Nikolaus Grigorieff - University of Massachusetts Medical School, USA
Dari Kimanius - MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK
Thorsten Wagner - Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology, Germany

18:00 - 19:00 (CEST)
12:00 - 13:00 (EDT)

Break

19:00 - 21:00 (CEST)
13:00 - 15:00 (EDT)
Pubquiz
21:00 (CEST)
15:00 (EDT)
End of day 6
Day 7 - Friday 28 August 2020
TimeSpeaker
09:00 - 10:00 (CEST)
03:00 - 04:00 (EDT)
(Pre-recorded talk) EMDB and EMPIAR
Ardan Patwardhan - EMBL-EBI Hinxton, UK
10:00 - 11:00 (CEST)
04:00 - 05:00 (EDT)

(Pre-recorded talk) Fitting of low-resolution EM maps
Maya Topf - Birkbeck College, UK

11:00 - 12:00 (CEST)
05:00 - 06:00 (EDT)

(Pre-recorded talk) Atomic coordinate refinement for high-resolution EM maps
Arjen Jakobi - Kavli Institute for Nanoscience Delft, The Netherlands

12:00 - 13:00 (CEST)
06:00 - 07:00 (EDT)

(Pre-recorded talk) Integrative Modeling of Macromolecular Assemblies
Jan Kosinski - EMBL Hamburg, Germany

13:00 - 14:30 (CEST)
07:00 - 09:30 (EDT)

Practical presentation
Panel host: Julia Mahamid - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany

14:30 - 15:00(CEST)
09:30 - 10:00 (EDT)

Break

15:00 - 16:00 (CEST)
10:00 - 11:00 (EDT)

Site Specific Cryo-FIB Preparation Aimed at in situ Cryo-Electron Tomography
Julia Mahamid - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany

16:00 - 17:00 (CEST)
11:00 - 12:00 (EDT)
Final discussion
Chair: Carsten Sachse - Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany
17:00 (CEST)
11:00 (EDT)
End of the course