Location & dates Virtual 28 Sep - 5 Oct 2020
Deadlines Application closed
Organiser_ThermoFisher

EMBL Courses and Conferences during the Coronavirus pandemic

With the onsite programme paused, many of our events are now being offered in virtual formats.


Registration is open as usual for many events, with back-up plans in place to move further courses and conferences online as necessary. Registration fees for any events affected by the COVID-19 disruption are fully refundable.


More information for participants of events at EMBL Heidelberg can be found here.

Programme

Got something to say? Tweet it with #EMBLCRISPRcas

The following times are used in the programme below:

  • Central European Summer Time (CEST): eg. Berlin, Amsterdam Paris
  • Eastern Daylight Time (EDT): eg. New York, Quebec

To find out the equivalent time zone in your location, enter Berlin, the CEST programme time and your city into the Time Zone Converter.

  • The virtual course includes live-streamed invited speakers with Q&A sessions after each talk.
  • Information on the live stream and access to the discussion platform will be provided shortly before the start of the event.
  • Access to the recorded talks will be available for 1 week after the start of the event.
Day 1 - Monday 28 September 2020
TimeSpeaker/Practical
13:00 - 13:20 (CEST)
07:00 - 07:20 (EDT)

Welcome and Introduction
Birgit Koch - Max Planck Institute for Medical Research, Germany
Yvonne Yeboah - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
Elisabeth Zielonka - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany

13:20 - 14:00 (CEST)
07:20 - 08:00 (EDT)

Interactive session:
Flash talks from participants (2 slides / 2 min)

14:00 - 14:15 (CEST)
08:00 - 08:15 (EDT)

Break

14:15 - 15:00 (CEST)
08:15 - 09:00 (EDT)

Live talk followed by Q&A session:
Introduction into CRISPR/Cas9
Sibylle Chantal Vonesch - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany

15:00 - 15:30 (CEST)
09:00 - 09:30 (EDT)

Break (Optional Quiz from 15:00 - 15:15)

15:30 - 17:00 (CEST)
09:30 - 11:00 (EDT)

Interactive session:
Project discussion in 2 parallel groups of 8 with four participants presenting
(Discussion time: 20 min per participant)

17:00 (CEST)
11:00 (EDT)

End of Day 1 - Continued access to networking
and discussion platform, pre-recorded lectures

Day 2 - Tuesday 29 September 2020
TimeSpeaker/Practical
12:45 - 13:00 (CEST)
06:45 - 07:00 (EDT)

Overview of the day
Birgit Koch - Max Planck Institute for Medical Research, Germany

13:00 - 13:45 (CEST)
07:00 - 07:45 (EDT)

Live talk followed by Q&A session:        
Purification of Cas9 protein
Kim Remans - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany

13:45 - 14:00 (CEST)
07:45 - 08:00 (EDT)

Break

14:00 - 14:30 (CEST)
08:00 - 08:30 (EDT)

Introduction to practical:
The art of CRISPR design -
Guide RNA design with Thermo Fisher
Alexander Schneidereit - Thermo Fisher Scientific

14:30 - 15:00 (CEST)
08:30 - 09:00 (EDT)

Introduction to practical:
Overview of gRNA design tools
Birgit Koch - Max Planck Institute for Medical Research, Germany

15:00 - 15:30 (CEST)
09:00 - 09:30 (EDT)

Introduction to practical:
gRNA/Donor design for embryos
                                                             
Neil Humphreys - EMBL Rome, Italy

15:30 - 16:00 (CEST)
09:30 - 10:00 (EDT)

Break

16:00 - 18:00 (CEST)
10:00 - 12:00 (EDT)

Self-paced practical module: 
gRNA/Donor design - assistance from trainer until 18:00 per chat

18:00 (CEST)
12:00 (EDT)

End of Day 2 - Continued access to networking
and discussion platform, pre-recorded lectures

Day 3 - Wednesday 30 September 2020
TimeSpeaker/Practical
12:45 - 13:00 (CEST)
06:45 - 07:00 (EDT)

Overview of the day
Neil Humphreys - EMBL Rome, Italy

13:00 - 13:45 (CEST)
07:00 - 07:45 (EDT)

Live talk followed by Q&A session:
Genome and epigenome editing using CRISPR-Cas system
Claudio Mussolino - Medical Center-University of Freiburg, Germany

13:45 - 14:00 (CEST)
07:45 - 08:00 (EDT)

Break

14:00 - 15:30 (CEST)
08:00 - 09:30 (EDT)

Interactive session:
Project discussion in 2 parallel groups of 8 with four participants presenting
(Discussion time: 20 min per participant)

15:30 - 16:00 (CEST)
09:30 - 10:00 (EDT)

Virtual Coffee (optional)

16:00 - 17:00 (CEST)
10:00 - 11:00 (EDT)

Live talk followed by Q&A session: 
Cell line Generation- Testing strategies for knock- in and knock-out cells
Birgit Koch - MPI for Medical Research Heidelberg, Germany

17:00 (CEST)
11:00 (EDT)

End of Day 3 - Continued access to networking
and discussion platform, pre-recorded lectures

Day 4 - Thursday 1 October 2020
TimeSpeaker/Practical
12:45 - 13:00 (CEST)
06:45 - 07:00 (EDT)

Overview of the day
Elisabeth Zielonka - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany

13:00 - 13:45 (CEST)
07:00 - 07:45 (EDT)

Live talk followed by Q&A session:
Towards unexpected phenotypes with CRISPR/Cas
Manuel Kaulich - Universität Klinikum FFM, Germany

13:45 - 14:00 (CEST)
07:45 - 08:00 (EDT)

Break

14:00 - 14:40 (CEST)
08:00 - 08:40 (EDT)

Interactive session part 1:
Imaged-based high-throughput screening RNAi vs CRISPR
Beate Neumann - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany

14:40 - 15:00 (CEST)
08:40 - 09:00 (EDT)

Break

15:00 - 16:00 (CEST)
09:00 - 10:00 (EDT)

Interactive session part 2:
Imaged-based high-throughput screening RNAi vs CRISPR
Beate Neumann - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany

16:00 (CEST)
10:00 (EDT)

End of Day 4 - Continued access to networking
and discussion platform, pre-recorded lectures

Day 5 - Friday 2 October 2020
TimeSpeaker/Practical
12:45 - 13:00 (CEST)
06:45 - 07:00 (EDT)

Overview of the day
Neil Humphreys - EMBL Rome, Italy

13:00 - 13:45 (CEST)
07:00 - 07:45 (EDT)

Live talk followed by Q&A session:
Gene Editing in different experimental models
Antony Adamson - University of Manchester, UK

13:45 - 14:00 (CEST)
07:45 - 08:00 (EDT)

Break

14:00 - 14:45 (CEST)
08:00 - 08:45 (EDT)

Live talk followed by Q&A session:
CRISPR-Cas genome editing to generate transgenic mice
Neil Humphreys - EMBL Rome, Italy

14:45 - 15:15 (CEST)
08:45 - 09:15 (EDT)

Break

15:15 - 16:30 (CEST)
09:15 - 10:30 (EDT)

Interactive session:
Ethical Issues of CRISPR Technology and Genome Engineering
Antony Adamson and Neil Humphreys

16:30 - 17:30 (CEST)
10:30 - 11:30 (EDT)

Virtual Social Programme:
Happy Hour Mixer

17:30 (CEST)
11:30 (EDT)

End of Day 5 - Continued access to networking
and discussion platform, pre-recorded lectures

Days 6/7 - Saturday/Sunday 3/4 October 2020
TimeSpeaker/Practical

Self-paced modules on Learning Platform

Day 8 - Monday 5 October 2020
TimeSpeaker/Practical
13:00 - 13:45 (CEST)
07:00 - 07:45 (EDT)

Summary of results, final discussions, feedback session

13:45 - 14:15 (CEST)
07:45 - 08:15 (EDT)

Break

14:15 - 15:00 (CEST)
08:15 - 09:00 (EDT)

Summary of results, final discussions, feedback session (continued)

15:00 (CEST)
09:00 (EDT)

End of the course