Location & dates Virtual 13 - 15 Oct 2020 Register Now
Deadlines Registration - 22 Sep 2020 Abstract - 1 Sep 2020
organiser_EMBOHHMI

EMBL Courses and Conferences during the Coronavirus pandemic

With the onsite programme paused, many of our events are now being offered in virtual formats.


Registration is open as usual for many events, with back-up plans in place to move further courses and conferences online as necessary. Registration fees for any events affected by the COVID-19 disruption are fully refundable.


More information for participants of events at EMBL Heidelberg can be found here.

Programme

Got something to say? Tweet it with #GenderAcademia2020

To find out the equivalent time zone in your location, enter Berlin, the CEST programme time and your city into the Time Zone Converter.

  • The virtual conference includes live-streamed invited speakers with Q&A sessions after each talk.
  • Information on the live stream and access to the discussion platform and digital posters will be provided shortly before the start of the event.
  • Access to the recorded talks will be available for 1 week after the start of the event.

The following times are used in the programme below:

  • Central European Summer Time (CEST): eg. Berlin, Amsterdam Paris
  • Eastern Daylight Time (EDT): eg. New York, Quebec
Day 1 - Tuesday 13 October 2020
TimeSpeaker
13:50 - 14:00 (CEST)
07:50 - 08:00 (EDT)
Opening remarks
14:00 - 14:40 (CEST)
08:00  - 08:40 (EDT)

Keynote Lecture: Women after all: sex, evolution, and the end of male supremacy
Melvin Konner - Emory University, USA

14:40 - 17:00 (CEST)
08:40 - 11:00 (EDT)
Session 1 - What is the impact of gender stereotypes in society and the workplace?
Chair:
Professor Maria Leptin - Director of EMBO, Germany
14:40 - 15:00 (CEST)
08:40 - 09:00 (EDT)
Alice Eagly - Northwestern University, USA
15:00 - 15:20 (CEST)
09:00 - 09:20 (EDT)

Jeff Hearn - Örebro University, Sweden

15:20 - 15:30 (CEST)
09:20 - 09:30 (EDT)
Break
15:30 - 17:00 (CEST)
09:30 - 11:00 (EDT)
Discussion session: Gender in the workplace and society
17:00 - 17:15 (CEST)
11:00 - 11:15 (EDT)
Break
17:15 - 19:35 (CEST)
11:15 - 13:35 (EDT)

Session 2 - Are the aims of academia compatible with the aim of equal opportunities for all ?
Chair:
Professor Erin O’Shea - President of HHMI, USA

17:15- 17:35 (CEST)
11:15 - 11:35 (EDT)

Liberty and Restraint: Freedom, Ethics, and Evaluation in the Academy                         
Joseph Hermanowicz - University of Georgia, USA

17:35 - 17:55 (CEST)
11:35 - 11:55 (EDT)

To be confirmed

17:55 - 18:05 (CEST)
11:55 - 12:05 (EDT)

Break

18:05 - 19:35 (CEST)
12:05 - 13:35 (EDT)

Discussion session: Men and women in academia

19:35 (CEST)
13:35 (EDT)

End of Day 1

Day 2 - Wednesday 14 October 2020
TimeSpeaker
11:00 - 11:30 (CEST)
05:00 - 05:30 (EDT)
Emma Clit Cartoons
11:30 - 13:00 (CEST)
05:30 - 07:00 (EDT)
Break
13:00 - 13:40 (CEST)
07:00 - 07:40 (EDT)
Keynote Lecture:
Cordelia Fine - The university of Melbourne, Australia
13:40 - 16:10 (CEST)
07:40 - 10:10 (EDT)
Session 3 - How do we define and recognize merit in academia, in a gender neutral way?
Chair:
Professor Edith Heard - Director of EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
13:40 - 14:00 (CEST)
07:40 - 08:00 (EDT)

Marieke van den Brink - Radboud University, The Netherlands

14:00 - 14:20 (CEST)
08:00 - 08:20 (EDT)

Gender equality in academia: how to ensure science is built by men and women
Stephen Curry - Imperial College London, UK

14:20 - 14:40 (CEST)
08:20 - 08:40 (EDT)

Break

14:40 - 16:10 (CEST)
08:40 - 10:10 (EDT)

Discussion session: Recognizing merit

16:10 - 16:30 (CEST)
10:10 - 10:30 (EDT)

Break

16:30 - 18:00 (CEST)
10:30 - 12:00 (EDT)

Poster session + flash talks on posters

18:00 (CEST)
12:00 (EDT)

End of Day 2
Day 3 - Wednesday 15 October 2020
TimeSpeaker
10:00 - 12:00 (CEST)
04:00 - 06:00 (EDT)
Poster session + flash talks on posters
12:00 - 14:00 (CEST)
06:00 - 08:00 (EDT)
Break

14:00 - 17:40 (CEST)
08:00 - 11:40 (EDT)

Session 5 - Measures
Chair: Gerlind Wallon - EMBO, Germany
14:00 - 14:20 (CEST)
08:00 - 08:20 (EDT)

Ansgar Büschges - Cologne University, Germany

14:20 - 14:40 (CEST)
08:20 - 08:40 (EDT)

Gender equality and sex and gender perspectives in research project  – experiences from the Swedish Research Council                                                                
Lisbeth Söderqvist - Swedish Research Council, Sweden

14:40 - 15:00 (CEST)
08:40 - 09:00 (EDT)
Frank Baaijens - Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands
15:00 - 15:20 (CEST)
09:00 - 09:20 (EDT)

ADVANCE-ing gender equity in academic STEM: lessons learned from twenty years of research, policy, and practice
Heather Metcalf - Association for Women in Science, USA

15:20 - 15:40 (CEST)
09:20 - 09:40 (EDT)

Break

15:40 - 16:55 (CEST)
09:40 - 09:55 (EDT)
Discussion session: Measures  to support gender equality in academia
16:55 - 17:10 (CEST)
09:55 - 11:10 (EDT)
Break

17:10 - 17:40 (CEST)
11:10 - 11:40 (EDT)

Jo Handelsman - Wisconsin Institute for Discovery, USA

17:40 - 17:50 (CEST)
11:40 - 11:50 (EDT)
Closing remarks
17:50 (CEST)
11:50 (EDT)
End of Day 3