Location & dates Virtual 13 - 15 Oct 2020
Deadlines Registration closed Abstract submission closed
organiser_EMBOHHMI

EMBL Courses and Conferences during the Coronavirus pandemic

With the onsite programme paused, many of our events are now being offered in virtual formats.


Registration is open as usual for many events, with back-up plans in place to move further courses and conferences online as necessary. Registration fees for any events affected by the COVID-19 disruption are fully refundable.


More information for participants of events at EMBL Heidelberg can be found here.

Programme

Got something to say? Tweet it with #GenderAcademia2020

To find out the equivalent time zone in your location, enter Berlin, the CEST programme time and your city into the Time Zone Converter.

  • The virtual conference includes live-streamed invited speakers with Q&A sessions after each talk.
  • Information on the live stream and access to the discussion platform and digital posters will be provided shortly before the start of the event.
  • Access to the recorded talks will be available for 1 week after the start of the event.

The following times are used in the programme below:

  • Central European Summer Time (CEST): eg. Berlin, Amsterdam Paris
  • Eastern Daylight Time (EDT): eg. New York, Quebec
Day 1 - Tuesday 13 October 2020
TimeSpeaker
13:50 - 14:00 (CEST)
07:50 - 08:00 (EDT)
Opening remarks
Edith Heard - Director General of EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
14:00 - 14:30 (CEST)
08:00 - 08:30 (EDT)

Keynote Lecture: Women after all: sex, evolution, and the end of male supremacy
Melvin Konner - Emory University, USA
Moderator: Edith Heard - Director General of EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

14:30 - 15:10 (CEST)
08:30 - 09:10 (EDT)
Session 1 - What is the impact of gender stereotypes in society and the workplace?
Chair:
Maria Leptin - Director of EMBO, Germany
14:30 - 14:50 (CEST)
08:30 - 08:50 (EDT)
The Vicious Cycle: Sex-segregated Social Roles Produce Gender Stereotypes that Foster Sex-segregated Social Roles
Alice Eagly - Northwestern University, USA
14:50 - 15:10 (CEST)
08:50 - 09:10 (EDT)

Gendering men and masculinities in research and academia
Jeff Hearn - Örebro University, Sweden
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

15:10 - 15:30 (CEST)
09:10 - 09:30 (EDT)
Break
15:30 - 16:55 (CEST)
09:30 - 10:55 (EDT)

Discussion session: Gender in the workplace and society
Chair:
Maria Leptin - Director of EMBO, Germany
Moderator:
Michele Garfinkel - EMBO, Germany

Including the below short talks:

  • Reevaluation of biological evidence for gender (in)equality
    Gemma Puixeu - Institute of Science and Technology, Austria
  • Analysis of the perception of gender stereotypes experienced by students and professionals in STEM careers in Colombia
    Elkin Alvis Narvaez - Universidad de Los Andes, Colombia
  • Gender and its Impact on Experiences of Social Misconduct at the Research Workplace
    Clemens Striebing - Fraunhofer IAO, Germany

16:55 - 17:00 (CEST)
10:55 - 11:00 (EDT)

Transitioning break

17:00 - 17:40 (CEST)
11:00 - 11:40 (EDT)

Session 2 - Are the aims of academia compatible with the aim of equal opportunities for all?
Chair:
Erin O’Shea - President of HHMI, USA

17:00 - 17:20 (CEST)
11:00 - 11:20 (EDT)

Honest Evaluation in the Academy
Joseph Hermanowicz - University of Georgia, USA

17:20 - 17:40 (CEST)
11:20 - 11:40(EDT)

Equality and diversity in UK academia
Ijeoma Uchegbu - University College London, UK
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

17:40 - 18:00(CEST)
11:40 - 12:00 (EDT)

Break

18:00 - 19:30 (CEST)
12:00 - 13:30(EDT)

Discussion session: Men and women in academia
Chair:
Erin O’Shea - President of HHMI, USA
Moderator:
Hilde Janssens - Institute of Science and Technology Austria, Austria

Guest Panelist: Susan Gasser - Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research, Switzerland

Including the below short talks:

  • ‘Debunking the Con Job: Getting Ahead for Your Competence in a World Obsessed with Confidence’
    Suzanne Doyle-Morris - InclusIQ, UK
  • Strategy to integrate 'female' qualities into leadership criteria
    Corinne Houart - King's College London, UK
  • Men are from Mars, women are from Venus? The pitfalls of essentialist gender beliefs for gender equality measures in STEM universities
    Claudia Schredl - GESIS Leibniz-Institute for the Social Sciences, Germany
19:30 (CEST)
13:30 (EDT)

End of Day 1

Day 2 - Wednesday 14 October 2020
TimeSpeaker
11:00 - 11:30 (CEST)
05:00 - 05:30 (EDT)

Keynote Lecture: Why does workplace gender diversity matter?
Cordelia Fine - The university of Melbourne, Australia
Moderator: Gerlind Wallon - EMBO, Germany
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

11:30 - 13:50 (CEST)
05:30 - 07:50 (EDT)
Break and pre-recorded short talks
13:50 - 14:10 (CEST)
07:50 - 08:10 (EDT)
Session 3 - How do we define and recognize merit in academia, in a gender neutral way?
Chair:
Edith Heard - Director General of EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
13:50 - 14:10 (CEST)
07:50 - 08:10 (EDT)

Gender equality in academia: how to ensure science is built by men and women
Stephen Curry - Imperial College London, UK
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

14:10 - 14:30 (CEST)
08:10 - 08:30 (EDT)

Break

14:30 - 15:55 (CEST)
08:30 - 09:55 (EDT)

Discussion session: Recognizing merit
Chair: Edith Heard - Director General of EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
Moderator:
Cornelius Gross - EMBL Rome, Italy

Including the below short talks:

  • Applicants are not always as U C: ranking applicants and detecting gender bias in UC Berkeley graduate school admissions
    Jacob Spertus - University of California, Berkeley, USA
  • Recognising merit in academia: gender neutral or gender explicit?
    Julia Trattnig - convelop cooperative knowledge design gmbh, Austria
  • Selling science: challenging meritocratic and gendered beliefs in research funding decisions
    Claartje Vinkenburg - CJ Vinkenburg Advies, The Netherlands

15:55 - 16:00 (CEST)
09:55 - 16:00 (EDT)

Transitioning break

16:00 - 16:20 (CEST)
10:00 - 10:20 (EDT)

Notes from the Field: Men’s Devotion to Science and Outstanding Questions for CSEM Research
Sarah Damaske - The Pennsylvania State University, USA
Moderator: Gerlind Wallon

16:20 - 16:30 (CEST)
10:20 - 10:30 (EDT)

Break

16:30 - 18:00 (CEST)
10:30 - 12:00 (EDT)

Poster session

18:00 (CEST)
12:00 (EDT)

End of Day 2
Day 3 - Thursday 15 October 2020
TimeSpeaker
10:00 - 12:00 (CEST)
04:00 - 06:00 (EDT)
Poster session and pre-recorded short talks
12:00 - 14:00 (CEST)
06:00 - 08:00 (EDT)
Break

14:00 - 15:20(CEST)
08:00 - 09:20 (EDT)

Session 4 - Measures
Chair: Michele Garfinkel - EMBO, Germany
14:00 - 14:20 (CEST)
08:00 - 08:20 (EDT)

Equality in selection processes: Challenges of implementing Quotas
Ansgar Büschges - Cologne University, Germany
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

14:20 - 14:40 (CEST)
08:20 - 08:40 (EDT)

Gender equality and sex and gender perspectives in research project  – experiences from the Swedish Research Council                                                                
Lisbeth Söderqvist - Swedish Research Council, Sweden
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

14:40 - 15:00 (CEST)
08:40 - 09:00 (EDT)

Diversity and Inclusion within TU/e: Irène Curie Fellowship Program
Evangelia Demerouti - Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands

15:00 - 15:20 (CEST)
09:00 - 09:20 (EDT)

ADVANCE-ing gender equity in academic STEM: lessons learned from twenty years of research, policy, and practice
Heather Metcalf - Association for Women in Science, USA
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

15:20 - 15:40 (CEST)
09:20 - 09:40 (EDT)

Break

15:40 - 17:05 (CEST)
09:40 - 11:05 (EDT)

Discussion session: Measures  to support gender equality in academia
Chair:
Michele Garfinkel - EMBO, Germany
Moderator:
Gerlind Wallon - EMBO, Germany

Including the below short talks:

  • Inclusive Teaching  Overcomes the Societal Stereotypes Imposed on Women of Color in STEM
    Tugce Bilgin Sonay - University of Columbia, USA
  • Language, stereotypes and unconscious bias: university policies for gender equality
    Rosella Marzullo - Mediterranea University of Reggio Calabria, Italy
  • Equal Opportunities at the Swiss National Center of Competence in Research “RNA & Disease” -  Can a technical support before and during the maternity leave foster the female scientist career?
    Frederic Allain - ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • ERC Funding opportunities and Gender Equality
    Nadia El Mjiyad - European Research Council Executive Agency, Belgium

17:05 - 17:10 (CEST)
11:05 - 11:10 (EDT)

Transitioning Break

17:10 - 17:40 (CEST)
11:10 - 11:40 (EDT)

Keynote Lecture: Gender Bias in Academic Science
Jo Handelsman - Wisconsin Institute for Discovery, USA
Moderator: Eileen Furlong, EMBL Heidelberg
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

17:40 - 17:50 (CEST)
11:40 - 11:50 (EDT)
Closing remarks
Maria Leptin - Director of EMBO, Germany
17:50 (CEST)
11:50 (EDT)
End of Day 3