Location & dates Virtual 13 - 15 Jul 2020
Deadlines Registration closed Abstract submission closed

EMBL Courses and Conferences during the Coronavirus pandemic

With the onsite programme paused, many of our events are now being offered in virtual formats.


Registration is open as usual for many events, with back-up plans in place to move further courses and conferences online as necessary. Registration fees for any events affected by the COVID-19 disruption are fully refundable.


More information for participants of events at EMBL Heidelberg can be found here.

Programme

Got something to say? Tweet it! #EMBLMicrofluidics 

All talks will be live-streamed with Q&A sessions after each talk unless otherwise indicated. Many talks will be available as videos on demand (VOD) until 22 July 2020. 

The following times are used in the programme below: 

  • Central European Summer Time (CEST): e.g. Berlin, Amsterdam, Paris
  • Eastern Daylight Time (EDT): e.g. New York, Quebec

To find out the equivalent time zone in your location, enter Berlin, the CEST programme time and your city into the Time Zone Converter

Day 1 - Monday 13 July 2020
TimeSpeaker

09:00 - 09:10 (CEST)
03:00 - 03:10 (EDT)

Opening remarks
Amy E. Herr, Angela R. Wu, Christoph Merten

09:10 - 10:55 (CEST)
03:10 - 04:55 (EDT)

Virtual Session 1 - Probing biology
Chair: Petra Dittrich

09:10 - 09:55 (CEST)
03:10 - 03:55 (EDT)

Keynote lecture:
Mechanobiology of tissues: De novo grown microtissues as disease models
Viola Vogel - ETH Zürich, Switzerland

09:55 - 10:10 (CEST)
03:55 - 04:10 (EDT)

The versatility of modular biohybrid microgels towards high-throughput biomaterial design, tissue engineering and therapeutic applications
Sebastian Kühn - Leibniz Institute of Polymer Research Dresden, Germany

10:10 - 10:25 (CEST)
04:10 - 04:25 (EDT)

High-throughput double-emulsion flow cytometry for single-cell screening, enrichment and recovery of phototrophic microorganisms
Akhila Denduluri - University of Cambridge, UK

10:25-10:55 (CEST)
04:25 -04:55 (EDT)

Emulsions and double emulsions for screening applications
Petra Dittrich - ETH Zürich, Switzerland

10:55 - 11:15 (CEST)
04:55 - 05:15 (EDT)

Break

11:15 - 12:15 (CEST)
05:15 - 06:15 (EDT)

Optional networking opportunity: Virtual pub quiz

12:15 - 12:25 (CEST)
06:15 - 06:25 (EDT)

Break

12:25 - 14:25 (CEST)
06:25 - 08:25 (EDT)

Virtual Poster Session with discussion channel on slack

14:25 - 16:10 (CEST)
08:25 - 10:10 (EDT)

Virtual Session 1 (cont.) - Probing biology
Chair: Angela R. Wu

14:25 - 14:55 (CEST)
08:25 - 08:55 (EDT)

Towards 3D printing of functional cellular modules
Petra Schwille - Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Germany

14:55 - 15:10 (CEST)
08:55 - 09:10 (EDT)

Collective behavior of immune cells on 3D model tumors in microfluidic droplets
Gustave Ronteix - Institut Pasteur, France

15:10 - 15:25 (CEST)
09:10 - 09:25 (EDT)

Targeted droplet-microfluidic enrichment and sequencing of uncultivated gut microbiome strains
Tobias Wenzel - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany

15:25 - 15:55 (CEST)
09:25 - 09:55 (EDT)

Rapid diagnostics at the point-of-need by centrifugal microfluidics
Roland Zengerle - Hahn-Schickard and University of Freiburg, Germany

15:55 - 16:10 (CEST)
09:55 - 10:10 (EDT)

Summary day 1 and introduction to networking activity: Meet the speakers

16:10 - 16:25 (CEST)
10:10 - 10:25 (EDT)

Break

16:25 - 16:55 (CEST)
10:25 - 10:55 (EDT)

Meet the speaker - Roland Zengerle

16:55 - 17:25 (CEST)
10:55 - 11:25 (EDT)

Meet the speaker - Viola Vogel

17:25 - 17:55 (CEST)
11:25 - 11:55 (EDT)

Meet the speaker - Petra Schwille

17:55 - 18:25 (CEST)
11:55 - 12:25 (EDT)

Meet the speaker - Petra Dittrich

18:25 (CEST)
12:25 (EDT)

End of Day 1

Continued access to networking and discussion platforms as well as poster gallery

Day 2 - Tuesday 14 July 2020
TimeSpeaker

09:15 - 10:15 (CEST)
03:15 - 04:15 (EDT)

Optional networking opportunity: Virtual pub quiz (rescheduled!)

10:15 - 11:45 (CEST)
04:15 - 05:45 (EDT)

Virtual Session 2: Next-generation device design and emerging applications
Chair: Carlotta Guiducci

10:15 - 10:45 (CEST)
04:15 - 04:45 (EDT)

Enhancing microfluidics for single-particle manipulation through localised electric fields
Carlotta Guiducci - EPFL, Switzerland

10:45 - 11:00 (CEST)
04:45 - 05:00 (EDT)

Development of a microfluidic device for studying bilateral chemosensory neurons in Caenorhabditis elegans
Jung-uk Shim - University of Leeds, United Kingdom

11:00 - 11:15 (CEST)
05:00 - 05:15 (EDT)

Design of an automated reagent-dispensing system for reaction screening and validation with DNA-tagged substrates
Jens Bobers - TU Dortmund University, Germany

11:15 - 11:45 (CEST)
05:15 - 05:45 (EDT)
Droplet microfluidics for phenotypic antibody screening and personalized medicine 
Christoph Merten - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany and EPFL, Switzerland
11:45 - 12:15 (CEST)
05:45 - 06:15 (EDT)
Break
12:15 - 14:15 (CEST)
06:15 - 08:15 (EDT)
Virtual Poster Session 2 with discussion channel on slack
14:15 - 17:30 (CEST)
08:15 - 11:30 (EDT)

Virtual Session 3: Disease diagnostics, analytical chemistry and chemical synthesis
Chair: Greg Nordin

14:15 - 15:00 (CEST)
08:15 - 09:00 (EDT)

Keynote lecture
Designing life chips for biomedical research and clinical applications
Nancy Allbritton - University of Washington, USA

15:00 - 15:15 (CEST)
09:00 - 09:15 (EDT)

Electric-field-driven microfluidics for rapid CRISPR-based diagnostics and its application to detection of SARS-CoV-2
Ashwin Ramachandran - Stanford University, United States of America

15:15 - 15:30 (CEST)
09:15 - 09:30 (EDT)

ATTRACT project SMILE: SAW-MIP Integrated device for oraL cancer Early detection
Maria Serena Chiriacò - Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (CNR), Italy

15:30 - 15:45 (CEST)
09:30 - 09:45 (EDT)

Break

15:45 - 16:15 (CEST)
09:45 - 10:15 (EDT)

Advanced 3D printing for microfluidics
Greg Nordin - Brigham Young University, USA

16:15 - 16:30 (CEST)
10:15 - 10:30 (EDT)
Actuation principles for bioanalytical platforms to combat infectious diseases
Susanna Früh - Hahn-Schickard & University of Freiburg, Germany
16:30 - 17:00 (CEST)
10:30 - 11:00 (EDT)

Double emulsion picoreactors for high-throughput single-cell encapsulation and phenotyping via FACS
Polly Fordyce - Stanford University, USA

17:00 - 17:15 (CEST)
11:00 - 11:15 (EDT)

Summary day 2 and introduction to networking activity: Meet the speakers
17:15 - 17:30 (CEST)
11:15 - 11:30 (EDT)

Break

17:30 - 18:00 (CEST)
11:30 - 12:00 (EDT)

Meet the speaker - Carlotta Guiducci

17:30 - 18:00 (CEST)
11:30 - 12:00 (EDT)

Meet the speaker - Greg Nordin

18:00 - 18:30 (CEST)
12:00 - 12:20 (EDT)

Meet the speaker - Nancy Allbritton

18:30 - 19:00 (CEST)
12:30 - 01:00 (EDT)

Meet the speaker - Christoph Merten

18:30 - 19:00 (CEST)
12:30 - 01:00 (EDT)

Meet the speaker - Polly Fordyce

19:00 (CEST)
13:00 (EDT)

End of Day 2

Continued access to networking and discussion platforms as well as poster gallery
Day 3 - Wednesday 15 July 2020
TimeSpeaker
10:00 - 12:00 (CEST)
04:00 - 06:00 (EDT)

Virtual Session 4: Single-cell and single-molecule analyses
Chair: Angela R. Wu

10:00 - 10:30 (CEST)
04:00 - 04:30 (EDT)
Electrophoretic fractionation of subcellular components of single cells for multi-omics analyses
Hirofumi Shintaku -RIKEN, Japan

10:30 - 10:45 (CEST)
04:30 - 04:45 (EDT)

Flow radiocytometry using droplet optofluidics
Byunghang Ha - Stanford University, United States of America

10:45 - 11:15 (CEST)
04:45 - 05:15 (EDT)

Transcriptomic profiling reveals molecular signatures that promote on-chip vascular growth and maturation
Angela R. Wu - The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong

11:15 - 11:30 (CEST)
05:15 - 05:30 (EDT)

Impedance cytometry and machine learning for fast label-free characterization of blood cell phenotypes
Federica Caselli - University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy

11:30 - 11:45 (CEST)
05:30 - 05:45 (EDT)

Microfluidic single-cell analysis revealed that cell size sets the diameter of the budding yeast contractile ring
Igor Kukhtevich - Helmholtz Centre Munich, Germany

11:45 - 12:15 (CEST)
05:45 - 06:15 (EDT)

Break

12:15 - 12:45 (CEST)
06:15 - 06:45 (EDT)

Meet the speaker - Hirofumi Shintaku

12:45 - 13:15 (CEST)
06:45 - 07:15 (EDT)

Meet the speaker - Angela Wu

13:15 - 13:30 (CEST)
07:15 - 07:30 (EDT)

Break

13:30 - 14:30 (CEST)
07:30 - 08:30 (EDT)

Virtual Poster Session 3 with discussion channel on slack

14:30 - 15:00 (CEST)
08:30 - 09:00 (EDT)
Break
15:00 - 17:00 (CEST)
09:00 - 11:00 (EDT)

Cont. Virtual Session 4: Single-cell and single-molecule analyses
Chair: Amy E. Herr

15:00 - 15:45 (CEST)
09:00 - 09:45 (EDT)

Keynote lecture:
Microfluidic cell atlases
Stephen Quake - Stanford University, USA

15:45 - 16:00 (CEST)
09:45 - 10:00 (EDT)

A DNA polymerase elongation-based fluorescence readout in polyacrylamide hydrogels
Alden Moss - University of California, United States of America

16:00 - 16:15 (CEST)
10:00 - 10:15 (EDT)

Migration of THP-1 cells on immobilized CXCL8 gradients in microfluidic devices
Victoria Engemann - TU Darmstadt, Germany

16:15 - 16:45 (CEST)
10:15 - 10:45 (EDT)

Precision medicine is advanced by precision microsystems
Amy E. Herr - University of California, Berkeley, USA

16:45 - 17:00 (CEST)
10:45 - 11:00 (EDT)

Break

17:00 - 18:00 (CEST)
11:00 - 12:00 (EDT)

Editor panel discussion
Chair: Christoph Merten
Editors: Philippa Ross - Lab on a Chip, Ruben Ragg - ChemBioChem, Eric Castro - Angewandte Chemie, Dominique Morneau - Nature Reviews

18:00 - 18:15 (CEST)
12:00 - 12:15 (EDT)

Break

18:15 - 18:45 (CEST)
12:15 - 12:45 (EDT)

Meet the speaker - Amy Herr

18:45 - 19:00 (CEST)
12:45 - 13:00 (EDT)

Closing remarks, end of conference

Continued access to networking and discussion platforms as well as poster gallery