Location & dates Virtual 27 - 29 Aug 2020
Deadlines Registration closed Abstract submission closed

EMBL Courses and Conferences during the Coronavirus pandemic

With the onsite programme paused, many of our events are now being offered in virtual formats.


Registration is open as usual for many events, with back-up plans in place to move further courses and conferences online as necessary. Registration fees for any events affected by the COVID-19 disruption are fully refundable.


More information for participants of events at EMBL Heidelberg can be found here.

Programme

Registered participants for the virtual conference were sent final details, including links to virtual platforms, on Thursday 20 August. The link to the live stream will be sent on Wednesday 26 August

Got something to say? Tweet it! #EMBLTranscript

To find out the equivalent time zone in your location, enter Berlin, the CEST programme time and your city into the Time Zone Converter.

  • The virtual conference includes live-streamed invited speaker and short talks with Q&A sessions after each talk. 
  • Information on the live stream and access to the discussion platform and digital posters will be provided shortly before the start of the event.
  • Access to any talks that are recorded will be available until Saturday 5 September 2020.

The following times are used in the programme below:

  • Central European Summer Time (CEST): eg. Berlin, Amsterdam, Paris
  • Eastern Daylight Time (EDT): eg. New York, Quebec
Day 1 - Thursday 27 August 2020
TimeSpeaker
14:00 - 14:10 (CEST)
08:00 - 08:10 (EDT)
Opening remarks

14:10 - 16:10 (CEST)
08:10 - 10:10 (EDT)

Virtual Session 1
Chairs: Eileen Furlong, EMBL Heidelberg, Germany and  Jürg Müller, Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Germany
14:10 - 14:30 (CEST)
08:10 - 08:30 (EDT)
New insights into the mechanisms of chromatin transcription
Patrick Cramer - Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Germany
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM
14:30 - 14:50 (CEST)
08:30 - 08:50 (EDT)

Dynamic imaging of nascent RNA reveals general principles of transcription dynamics
Daniel R. Larson - National Cancer Institute, USA
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

14:50 - 15:05 (CEST)
08:50 - 09:05 (EDT)

Attenuation of vertebrate transcription by termination factor PCF11
Kinga Kamieniarz-Gdula - Adam Mickiewicz University, Poland
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

15:05 - 15:15 (CEST)
09:05 - 09:15 (EDT)

Short break

15:15 - 15:35 (CEST)
09:15 - 09:35 (EDT)

Cell-type specialization in the brain is encoded by specific long-range chromatin topologies
Ana Pombo - Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine, Germany
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

15:35 - 15:50 (CEST)
09:35 - 09:50 (EDT)

Chromatin Hyperacetylation Impacts Chromosome Folding by Forming a Nuclear Subcompartment
Kyle Eagen - Northwestern University, USA
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

15:50 - 16:10 (CEST)
09:50 - 10:10 (EDT)

The Logic of Long-Range Hox Genes Transcription
Denis Duboule - University of Geneva and École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland

16:10 - 16:40 (CEST)
10:10 - 10:40 (EDT)

Break

16:40 - 20:45 (CEST)
10:40 - 14:35 (EDT)

Virtual Session 2
Chairs: Ana Pombo - Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine, Germany and Wouter de Laat  - Hubrecht Institute, The Netherlands

16:40 -17:00 (CEST)
10:40 - 11:00 (EDT)

Genome-wide mapping of protein-DNA interaction dynamics
Steven Henikoff  - Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, USA 
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

17:00 - 17:15 (CEST)
11:00 - 11:15 (EDT)

How can transcription factors bind their motif hidden in nucleosomes?
Alicia Michael - Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research, Switzerland
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

17:15 - 17:35 (CEST)
11:15 - 11:35 (EDT)

Molecular mechanisms governing cell identity, differentiation and cancer processes
Luciano Di Croce - Centre for Genomic Regulation, Spain
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

17:35 - 17:45 (CEST)
11:35 - 11:45 (EDT)

Short break

17:45 - 18:05 (CEST)
11:45 - 12:05 (EDT)

Interplay between CTCF boundaries and a super enhancer controls cohesin extrusion trajectories and gene expression
Wouter de Laat  - Hubrecht Institute, The Netherlands
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

18:05 - 18:20 (CEST)
12:05 - 12:20 (EDT)

Shining light on nuclear protein function:  Extremely dynamic, reversible, and efficient perturbation of nuclear factors in embryos
Anna Kögler - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany

18:20 - 18:35 (CEST)
12:20 - 12:35 (EDT)

Dynamics of the 4D genome during in vivo lineage specification and differentiation
Marieke Oudelaar - University of Oxford, UK
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

18:35  - 19:15 (CEST)
12:35 - 13:15 (EDT)

Break

19:15 - 19:35 (CEST)
13:15 - 13:35 (EDT)

How subtle changes in 3D structure create large changes in transcription – lessons from super-resolution imaging and mathematical modeling
Alistair Boettiger - Stanford University, USA
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

19:35 - 19:50 (CEST)
13:35 - 13:50 (EDT)

Nonlinear control of transcription levels through enhancer-promoter interactions
Luca Giorgetti - Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research, Switzerland
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

19:50 - 20:10 (CEST)
13:50 - 14:10 (EDT)

Bivalent Polycomb complexes as master switches of developmental gene regulation
Mitzi I. Kuroda - Harvard Medical School, USA
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

20:10 - 20:25 (CEST)
14:10 - 14:25 (EDT)

Regulation of transcriptional bursting by core promoter elements
Takashi Fukaya - University of Tokyo, Japan
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

20:25 - 20:45 (CEST)
14:25 - 14:45 (EDT)
Epigenetic regulation of the X chromosome
Asifa Akhtar - Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics, Germany
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM
20:45 - 21:00 (CEST)
14:45 - 15:00 (EDT)

Short break before virtual speed networking

21:00 - 22:00 (CEST)
15:00 - 16:00 (EDT)

Optional: Virtual Speed Networking (using Zoom, pre-registration required)
22:00 (CEST)
16:00 (EDT)

End of Day 1 - Continued access to digital posters, networking and discussion platforms and recorded talks (after they are live streamed)

Day 2 - Friday 28 August 2020
TimeSpeaker
Continued access to digital posters, networking and discussion platforms, recorded talks (after they are live streamed)
14:00 - 16:15 (CEST)
08:00 - 10:10 (EDT)
Virtual Session 3
Chair: Marc Timmers - University of Freiburg and German Cancer Research Centre, Germany
14:00 - 14:20 (CEST)
08:00 - 08:20 (EDT)

Epigenomic dynamics for transient germline competence and induction of human primordial germ cell fate
Azim Surani - Wellcome Trust/CRUK Gurdon Institute, UK

14:20 - 14:35 (CEST)
08:20 - 08:35 (EDT)

The maternal transcriptome is defined by a novel TBPL2 (TBP2/TRF3)/TFIIA complex
Laszlo Tora  - Institute of Genetics and Molecular and Cellular Biology (IGBMC)/CNRS, France
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

14:35 - 14:50 (CEST)
08:35 - 08:50 (EDT)

Quantitative imaging of transcription in living Drosophila embryos reveals the impact of core promoter motifs on transcriptional states
Mounia Lagha - CNRS, France

14:50 - 15:10 (CEST)
08:50 - 09:10 (EDT)

Imprinting control by the combined presence of PRC2-mediated H3K27me3 and SUVH-mediated H3K9me2 in the Arabidopsis endosperm
Claudia Köhler - Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Sweden
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

15:10 - 15:20 (CEST)
09:10 - 09:20 (EDT)

Short break

15:20 - 15:40 (CEST)
09:20 - 09:40 (EDT)
Structural insights into the RNA polymerase I and III transcription cycles
Christoph Müller - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM
15:40 - 15:55  (CEST)
09:40 - 09:55 (EDT)

Drosophila SWR1 and NuA4 complexes are defined by DOMINO isoforms
Peter Becker - Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

15:55 - 16:15 (CEST)
09:55 - 10:15 (EDT)

Chromatin Replication and Epigenome Maintenance
Anja Groth - University of Copenhagen, Denmark

16:15 - 16:45 (CEST)
10:45 - 12:15 (EDT)

Break

16:45 - 18:15 (CEST)
12:15 - 16:40 (EDT)

Virtual Poster Session 1 (all posters)

18:15 - 21:45 (CEST)
12:15 - 15:45 (EDT)

Virtual Session 4
Chairs: Anja Groth - University of Copenhagen, Denmark and Jürg Müller -Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Germany

18:15 - 18:35 (CEST)
12:15 - 12:35 (EDT)

FACT and its interactions with the nucleosome
Karolin Luger - University of Colorado Boulder, USA
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

18:35 - 18:50 (CEST)
12:35 - 12:50 (EDT)

Molecular function of the histone H3.3 lysine 4 and lysine 36 residues in stem cells and neurons
Kyung-Min Noh - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

18:50 - 19:10 (CEST)
12:50 - 13:10 (EDT)

Dynamic control mechanisms of chromatin access
Beat Fierz - École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

19:10 - 19:15 (CESY)
13:10 - 13:15 (EDT)

Short break
19:15 - 19:35 (CEST)
13:15 - 13:35 (EDT)

Nucleosome compaction, phase separation, and Polycomb-Group maintenance of repression
Robert Kingston - Harvard Medical School, USA
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

19:35 - 19:55 (CEST)
13:35 - 13:55 (EDT)

Functional analyses of the carboxy-terminal domain of RNA polymerase II in Drosophila
David Gilmour  - The Pennsylvania State University, USA
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

19:55 - 20:35 (CEST)
13:55 - 14:35 (EDT)

Break

20:35 - 20:55 (CEST)
14:35 - 14:55 (EDT)

Studying dynamics in transcription activation, initiation, and elongation
Steve Buratowski - Harvard Medical School, USA 
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

20:55 - 21:10 (CEST)
14:55 - 15:10 (EDT)

Structural basis for PRC2 decoding of the active histone methylation marks H3K36me2/3
Ksenia Finogenova - Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Germany

21:10 - 21:25 (CEST)
15:10 - 15:25 (EDT)

JARID2 and AEBP2 recognize H2A ubiquitination to regulate PRC2 activity
Vignesh Kasinath - University of California Berkeley, USA
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

21:25 - 21:45 (CEST)
15:25 - 15:45 (EDT)
Unmasking cross-talk between histone ubiquitination and methylation
Cynthia Wolberger  - Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, USA
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM
21:45 - 22:00 (CEST)
15:45 - 16:00 (EDT)
Short break before virtual bar mixer
22:00 - 23:00 (CEST)
16:00 - 17:00 (EDT)

Optional: Virtual Bar Mixer (see #livingroom channel in Slack for login details)

23:00 (CEST)
17:00 (EDT)
End of Day 2 - Continued access to digital posters, networking and discussion platforms and recorded talks (after they are live streamed)
Day 3 - Saturday 29 August 2020
TimeSpeaker
Continued access to digital posters, networking and discussion platforms and recorded talks (after they are live streamed)
14:00 - 16:15 (CEST)
08:00 - 10:10 (EDT)
Virtual Session 5
Chair: Peter Becker - Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany
14:00 - 14:20 (CEST)
08:00 - 08:20 (EDT)

Two transcriptional networks that link ribosome biogenesis to growth and stress signals in yeast
David Shore - University of Geneva, Switzerland
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

14:20 - 14:40 (CEST)
08:20 - 08:40 (EDT)

Control of TBP localization and greenCUT&RUN
Marc Timmers - University of Freiburg and German Cancer Research Centre, Germany
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

14:40 - 14:55 (CEST)
08:40 - 08:55 (EDT)

Single-molecule characterization of transcription factor cooperative binding at mouse cis-regulatory elements
Arnaud Krebs - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

14:55 - 15:15 (CEST)
08:55 - 09:15 (EDT)

Mechanistic Insights into Chromatin Remodeling
Zhucheng Chen  - Tsinghua University, China

15:15 - 15:25 (CEST)
09:15 - 09:25 (EDT)

Short break

15:25 - 15:40 (CEST)
09:25 - 09:40 (EDT)

Transcription and chromatin control by ubiquitin specific protease 7 (USP7)
Ayestha Sijm - Erasmus University Medical Center, The Netherlands

15:40 - 15:55 (CEST)
09:40 - 09:55 (EDT)
Enhancer disruption and PRC2 sequestration by H3.3-K27M impedes neurodevelopmental gene expression in human fetal hindbrain NSCs
Adrian Bracken - Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM
15:55 - 16:15 (CEST)
09:55 - 10:15 (EDT)
Polycomb, Inheritance and Disease
Danny Reinberg - Howard Hughes Medical Institute at NYU Langone School of Medicine, USA
16:15 - 16:45 (CEST)
10:15 - 10:45 (EDT)

Break

16:45 - 18:15 (CEST)
10:45 - 12:15 (EDT)

Virtual Poster Session 2 (all posters)

18:15 - 22:00 (CEST)
12:15 - 16:00 (EDT)

Virtual: Session 6
Chair: Karen Adelman - Harvard Medical School, USA and Peter Verrijzer - Erasmus University Medical Center, The Netherlands

18:15 - 18:35 (CEST)
12:15 - 12:35 (EDT)

Making faces: transcriptional enhancers and emergence of form and function during development and evolution.
Joanna Wysocka - Stanford University, USA
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

18:35 - 18:55 (CEST)
12:35 - 12:55

Principles of epigenetics and chromatin in development and human disease
Ali Shilatifard - Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, USA

18:55 - 19:10 (CEST)
12:55 - 13:10 (EDT)

Decoding sequence contributions to transcription elongation and termination
Hanneke Vlaming - Harvard Medical School, USA
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

19:10 - 19:15 (CEST)
13:10 - 13:15 (EDT)

Short break

19:15 - 19:35 (CEST)
13:15 - 13:35 (EDT)

Integrator is a genome-wide attenuator of non-productive transcription
Torben Heick Jensen - Aarhus University, Denmark
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

19:35 - 19:55 (CEST)
13:35 - 13:55 (EDT)

Transcriptional repression during heat shock
Jesper Svejstrup  - The Francis Crick Institute, UK
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

19:55 - 20:35 (CEST)
13:55 - 14:35 (EDT)

Break

20:35 - 20:50 (CEST)
14:35 - 14:50 (EDT)

Structure of complete mammalian RNA polymerase II-DSIF-PAF-SPT6 complex reveals novel RTF1 allosteric activation mechanism
Seychelle Vos - Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

20:50 - 21:05 (CEST)
14:50 - 15:05 (EDT)

Single-gene live-cell imaging reveals links between genome organization, promoter-enhancer communication and transcription control
Alexandros Pertsinidis - Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, USA
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

21:05 - 21:25 (CEST)
15:05 - 15:25 (EDT)

A first exon termination checkpoint that preferentially suppresses extragenic transcription
Gioacchino Natoli - Humanitas University, Italy

21:25 - 21:40 (CEST)
15:25 - 15:40 (EDT)

High-resolution analysis of cell-state transitions in yeast reveals widespread transcriptional tuning by alternative starts
Folkert van Werven - Francis Crick Institute, UK
AVAILABLE ON DEMAND AFTER LIVE STREAM

21:40 - 22:00 (CEST)
15:40 - 16:00 (EDT)

Epigenetic pathways as targets in human disease
Shelley L. Berger - University of Pennsylvania, USA

22:00 - 22:10 (CEST)
16:00 - 16:10 (EDT)
Closing
End of Conference - Access to digital posters, networking and discussion platforms and recorded talks will be available until Saturday 5 September