Location & dates Virtual 17 - 20 May 2021 Register Now
Deadlines Registration - 19 Apr 2021 Abstract - 15 Mar 2021

EMBL Courses and Conferences during the Coronavirus pandemic

With the onsite programme paused, many of our events are now being offered in virtual formats.


Registration is open as usual for many events, with back-up plans in place to move further courses and conferences online as necessary. Registration fees for any events affected by the COVID-19 disruption are fully refundable.


More information for participants of events at EMBL Heidelberg can be found here.

Programme

Got something to say? Tweet it! #EMBLChromatin

  • The virtual conference includes live-streamed invited speaker talks and live-streamed selected short talks with live Q&A sessions after each talk
    as well as meet the speaker sessions.
  • All digital poster presenters are encouraged to upload a recorded flash talk or narration
    with their digital poster and to schedule group video calls during poster session times.
  • Information on the live stream and access to the discussion platform and digital posters will be provided 1 week before the start of the event.

The following times are used in the programme below:

  • Central European Summer Time (CEST): eg. Berlin, Amsterdam, Paris
  • Eastern Daylight Time (EDT): eg. New York, Quebec

To find out the equivalent time zone in your location, enter Berlin, the CEST programme time
and your city into the Time Zone Converter.

Day 1 - Monday 17 May 2021
TimeSpeaker

14:00 - 14:10 (CEST)
08:00 - 08:10 (EDT)

Opening remarks
14:10 - 16:00 (CEST)
08:10 - 10:00 (EDT)

Virtual Session 1: Developmental epigenetics
Chairs: Asifa Akhtar and Giacomo Cavalli

14:10 - 14:35 (CEST)
08:10 - 08:35 (EDT)

Amanda G. Fisher - MRC London Institute of Medical Sciences, UK

14:35 - 15:00 (CEST)
08:35 - 09:00 (EDT)

Cold-induced epigenetic switching
Caroline Dean - John Innes Centre, UK

15:00 - 15:05 (CEST)
09:00 - 09:05 (EDT)

Transition (setup and switch to the next live talks)

15:05 - 15:30 (CEST)
09:05 - 09:30 (EDT)

Nicola Iovino - Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics, Germany

15:30 - 15:45 (CEST)
09:30 - 09:45 (EDT)
Selected short talk
15:45 - 16:00 (CEST)
09:45 - 10:00 (EDT)

Selected short talk

16:00 - 16:05 (CEST)
10:00 - 10:05 (EDT)

Transition (switch to individual Zoom rooms)

16:05 - 16:35 (CEST)
10:05 - 10:35 (EDT)

Meet all the speakers from Session 1
in individual Zoom rooms

16:35 - 16:45 (CEST)
10:35 - 10:45 (EDT)

Break

16:45 - 17:45 (CEST)
10:45 - 11:45 (EDT)

Virtual Poster Session 1 - odd numbers
(including live chats and discussion channels)

17:45 - 18:00 (CEST)
11:45 - 12:00 (EDT)

Break

18:00 - 19:50 (CEST)
12:00 - 13:50 (EDT)

Virtual Session 2: Heterochromatin and HP1
Chairs: Anja Groth and Nicola Iovino
18:00 - 18:25 (CEST)
12:00 - 12:25 (EDT)
Geneviève Almouzni - Institut Curie, France
18:25 - 18:50 (CEST)
12:25 - 12:50 (EDT)
Danesh Moazed - Harvard Medical School, USA

18:50 - 18:55 (CEST)
12:50 - 12:55 (EDT)

Transition (setup and switch to the next live talks)
18:55 - 19:20 (CEST)
12:55 - 13:20 (EDT)
Geeta J. Narlikar - University of California, San Francisco, USA
19:20 - 19:35 (CEST)
13:20 - 13:35 (EDT)
Selected short talk
19:35 - 19:50 (CEST)
13:35 - 13:50 (EDT)
Selected short talk

19:50 - 19:55 (CEST)
13:50 - 13:55 (EDT)

Transition (switch to individual Zoom rooms)

19:55 - 20:25 (CEST)
13:55 - 14:25 (EDT)

Meet all the speakers from Session 2
in individual Zoom rooms

20:25 - 21:00 (CEST)
14:25 - 15:00 (EDT)

Virtual speed networking: 1-1
Digital posters, recordings and discussion channels will be available
 for registered participants throughout the whole virtual conference
 (as well as 1 week before and 2 weeks after)
Day 2 - Tuesday 18 May 2021
TimeSpeaker

13:00 - 13:45 (CEST)
07:00 - 07:45 (EDT)

Career fireside chat - to be confirmed:
Panelists sharing career advice
with PhD/postdoc participants
13:45 - 14:00 (CEST)
07:45 - 08:00 (EDT)

Break

14:00 - 16:00 (CEST)
08:00 - 10:00 (EDT)

Virtual Session 3: Transcription and chromatin defects and diseases
Chairs: Asifa Akhtar and Wolf Reik

14:00 - 14:25 (CEST)
08:00 - 08:25 (EDT)

Regulation of transcription elongation in development and disease
Karen Adelman - Harvard Medical School, USA

14:25 - 14:50 (CEST)
08:25 - 08:50 (EDT)

The distinct role of Polycomb and MLL proteins in stem cell biology and cancer
Luciano Di Croce - Centre for Genomic Regulation, Spain

14:50 - 14:55 (CEST)
08:50 - 08:55 (EDT)

Transition (setup and switch to the next live talks)

14:55 - 15:20 (CEST)
08:55 - 09:20 (EDT)

Shelley L. Berger - University of Pennsylvania

15:20 - 15:45 (CEST)
09:20 - 09:45 (EDT)
Ali Shilatifard - Northwestern University, USA
15:45 - 16:00 (CEST)
09:45 - 10:00 (EDT)

Selected short talk

16:00 - 16:05 (CEST)
10:00 - 10:05 (EDT)

Transition (switch to individual Zoom rooms)

16:05 - 16:35 (CEST)
10:05 - 10:35 (EDT)

Meet all the speakers from Session 3
in individual Zoom rooms
16:35 - 16:45 (CEST)
10:35 - 10:45 (EDT)

Break
16:45 - 17:45 (CEST)
10:45 - 11:45 (EDT)

Virtual Poster Session 2 - even numbers
(including live chats and discussion channels)
17:45 - 18:00 (CEST)
11:45 - 12:00 (EDT)

Break
18:00 - 19:50 (CEST)
12:00 - 13:50 (EDT)

Virtual Session 4: Chromatin regulation
Chairs: Cigall Kadoch and Peter Becker
18:00 - 18:25 (CEST)
12:00 - 12:25 (EDT)
Asifa Akhtar - Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics, Germany
18:25 - 18:50 (CEST)
12:25 - 12:50 (EDT)
Chromatin compaction and phase separation in epigenetic control of development
Robert E. Kingston - Harvard Medical School, USA
18:50 - 18:55 (CEST)
12:50 - 12:55 (EDT)
Transition (setup and switch to the next live talks)
18:55 - 19:20 (CEST)
12:55 - 13:20 (EDT)
Polycomb, inheritance and disease
Danny Reinberg - New York University School of Medicine, USA
19:20 - 19:35 (CEST)
13:20 - 13:35 (EDT)
Selected short talk
19:35 - 19:50 (CEST)
13:35 - 13:50 (EDT)
Selected short talk
19:50 - 19:55 (CEST)
13:50 - 13:55 (EDT)

Transition (switch to individual Zoom rooms)
19:55 - 20:25 (CEST)
13:55 - 14:25 (EDT)

Meet all the speakers from Session 4
in individual Zoom rooms
20:25 - 21:25 (CEST)
14:25 - 15:25 (EDT)

Live Jazz and Virtual Bar Mixer
Digital posters, recordings and discussion channels will be available
 for registered participants throughout the whole virtual conference
 (as well as 1 week before and 2 weeks after)
Day 3 - Wednesday 19 May 2021
TimeSpeaker
13:00 - 13:45 (CEST)
07:00 - 07:45 (EDT)

Meet the editors (to be confirmed)
in individual Zoom meetings
13:45 - 14:00 (CEST)
07:45 - 08:00 (EDT)

Break

14:00 - 16:00 (CEST)
08:00 - 10:00 (EDT)

Virtual Session 5: Nucleosomes structure and function
Chairs: Geneviève Almouzni and Danny Reinberg

14:00 - 14:25 (CEST)
08:00 - 08:25 (EDT)

Chromatin replication and epigenome maintenance
Anja Groth - University of Copenhagen, Denmark

14:25 - 14:50 (CEST)
08:25 - 08:50 (EDT)

Cooperation, competition and combination: Principles of targeting the X for chromosome-wide regulation
Peter Becker - Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany

14:50 - 14:55 (CEST)
08:50 - 08:55 (EDT)

Transition (setup and switch to the next live talks)

14:55 - 15:20 (CEST)
08:55 - 09:20 (EDT)

Cigall Kadoch - Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Harvard Medical School, USA

15:20 - 15:45 (CEST)
09:20 - 09:45 (EDT)
Karolin Luger - University of Colorado Boulder, USA
15:45 - 16:00 (CEST)
09:45 - 10:00 (EDT)

Selected short talk

16:00 - 16:05 (CEST)
10:00 - 10:05 (EDT)

Transition (switch to individual Zoom rooms)

16:05 - 16:35 (CEST)
10:05 - 10:35 (EDT)

Meet all the speakers from Session 5
in individual Zoom rooms
16:35 - 16:45 (CEST)
10:35 - 10:45 (EDT)

Break
16:45 - 17:45 (CEST)
10:45 - 11:45 (EDT)

Virtual Poster Session 3 - all numbers
(including live chats and discussion channels)
17:45 - 18:00 (CEST)
11:45 - 12:00 (EDT)

Break
18:00 - 19:50 (CEST)
12:00 - 13:50 (EDT)

Virtual Session 6: Nuclear architecture
Chairs: Karolin Luger and Luciano Di Croce
18:00 - 18:25 (CEST)
12:00 - 12:25 (EDT)
Eileen Furlong - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
18:25 - 18:50 (CEST)
12:25 - 12:50 (EDT)
Principles and functional role of 3D genome folding
Giacomo Cavalli - Institute of Human Genetics - CNRS, France
18:50 - 18:55 (CEST)
12:50 - 12:55 (EDT)
Transition (setup and switch to the next live talks)
18:55 - 19:20 (CEST)
12:55 - 13:20 (EDT)
Through the microscope: Genome folding in animal development
Alistair Boettiger - Stanford University, USA
19:20 - 19:35 (CEST)
13:20 - 13:35 (EDT)
Selected short talk
19:35 - 19:50 (CEST)
13:35 - 13:50 (EDT)
Selected short talk
19:50 - 19:55 (CEST)
13:50 - 13:55 (EDT)

Transition (switch to individual Zoom rooms)
19:55 - 20:25 (CEST)
13:55 - 14:25 (EDT)

Meet all the speakers from Session 6
in individual Zoom rooms
Digital posters, recordings and discussion channels will be available
 for registered participants throughout the whole virtual conference
 (as well as 1 week before and 2 weeks after)
Day 4 - Thursday 20 May 2021
TimeSpeaker
14:00 - 15:50 (CEST)
08:00 - 09:50 (EDT)

Virtual Session 7: Chromatin and RNA modifications
Chairs: Caroline Dean and Nicola Iovino

14:00 - 14:25 (CEST)
08:00 - 08:25 (EDT)

Nuclear condensates: Regulation and dysregulation
Richard A. Young - Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, USA

14:25 - 14:50 (CEST)
08:25 - 08:50 (EDT)

Chemical approaches to studying chromatin
Tom Muir - Princeton University, USA

14:50 - 14:55 (CEST)
08:50 - 08:55 (EDT)

Transition (setup and switch to the next live talks)

14:55 - 15:10 (CEST)
08:55 - 09:10 (EDT)

Selected short talk

15:10 - 15:25 (CEST)
09:10 - 09:25 (EDT)
Selected short talk
15:25 - 15:40 (CEST)
09:25 - 09:40 (EDT)

Selected short talk

15:40 - 15:45 (CEST)
09:40 - 09:45 (EDT)

Transition (setup and switch to the next live talk)

15:45 - 16:30 (CEST)
09:45 - 10:30 (EDT)

Keynote:

Single cell multi-omics landscape of development and ageing
Wolf Reik - Babraham Institute, UK

16:30 - 16:40 (CEST)
10:30 - 10:40 (EDT)

Closing remarks
16:40 - 17:10 (CEST)
10:40 - 11:10 (EDT)

Meet all the speakers from Session 7
in individual Zoom rooms
Digital posters, recordings and discussion channels will be available
 for registered participants throughout the whole virtual conference
 (as well as 1 week before and 2 weeks after)