Location & dates Virtual 12 - 19 Apr 2021
Deadlines Application closed
organiser_EMBO_Course_2017

EMBL Courses and Conferences during the Coronavirus pandemic

With the onsite programme paused, many of our events are now being offered in virtual formats.


Registration is open as usual for many events, with back-up plans in place to move further courses and conferences online as necessary. Registration fees for any events affected by the COVID-19 disruption are fully refundable.


More information for participants of events at EMBL Heidelberg can be found here.

Programme

Got something to say? Tweet it! #EMBOMetaG

  • The course will start on Monday 29 March, with an onboarding session and access to the pre-recorded lectures. It will continue on Monday 12 April with the regular programme.
  • The course will include interactive discussion sessions, online practicals, hands on exercises and networking.
  • Information on the live stream and access to the course platform will be provided shortly before the start of the event.
  • Access to the recorded talks will be available for 1 week after the start of the event.
  • Participants will be required to view the pre-recorded talks prior to the main start of the course on Monday 12 April. Full-time attendance is required for the course duration.

The following times are used in the programme below:

  • Central European Summer Time (CEST): eg. Berlin, Amsterdam Paris
  • Eastern Daylight Time (EDT): eg. New York, Quebec

To find out the equivalent time zone in your location, enter Berlin, the CEST programme time and your city into the Time Zone Converter.

Day 0 - Monday 29 March 2021
TimeSpeaker
14:00 - 16:30 (CEST)
08:00 - 09:00 (EDT)
Onboarding
16:30(CEST)
10:00 (EDT)
End of day 0
Day 1 - Monday 12 April 2021
TimeSpeaker
12:45 - 13:00 (CEST)
06:45 - 07:00 (EDT)
Overwiew of the day
13:00 - 13:15 (CEST)
07:00 - 07:15 (EDT)
Welcome and house notes and course overview
13:15 - 14:30 (CEST)
07:15 - 08:30 (EDT)
Icebreaker activity
14:30 - 14:45 (CEST)
08:30 - 08:45 (EDT)
Break
14:45 - 15:30 (CEST)
08:45 - 09:30 (EDT)
Panel discussion
Karine Clement - ICAN INSERM, France
José Eduardo González Pastor - Center of Astrobiology (CSIC/INTA), Spain
Gabrielle Potocki-Veronese - INRA-LISBP, France
15:30 - 16:00 (CEST)
09:30 - 10:00 (EDT)
Break

16:00 - 17:00 (CEST)
10:00 - 11:00 (EDT)

Students Presentations

17:00 - 18:00 (CEST)
11:00 - 12:00 (EDT)

Optional social networking session
18:00 (CEST)
12:00 (EDT)
End of day 1
Day 2 - Tuesday 13 April 2021
TimeSpeaker
12:45 - 13:00 (CEST)
06:45 - 07:00 (EDT)
Quick overview of the day
13:00 - 13:45 (CEST)
07:00 - 07:45 (EDT)

Interactive Session: Sample collection and sample preperation
José Eduardo González Pastor - Center of Astrobiology (CSIC/INTA), Spain   
Arantxa Lopez - FISABIO, Spain

13:45 - 14:00 (CEST)
07:45 - 08:00 (EDT)

Break

14:00 - 14:45 (CEST)
08:00 - 08:45 (EDT)

Practical session: How to make a Metagenomics  library
- potential pitfalls and critical steps pre-recorded video tutorial
José Eduardo González Pastor - Center of Astrobiology (CSIC/INTA), Spain  

14:45 - 15:15 (CEST)
08:45 - 09:15 (EDT)

Networking break

15:15 - 16:15 (CEST)
09:00 - 10:15 (EDT)

Lab Practical
José Eduardo González Pastor - Center of Astrobiology (CSIC/INTA), Spain   
Arantxa Lopez - FISABIO, Spain

16:15 - 16:35 (CEST)
10:15 - 10:35 (EDT)

Lab Practical
Tobias Wenzel - Institute for Biological and Medical Engineering, Chile

16:35 - 17:20 (CEST)
10:35 - 11:20 (EDT)

Interactive Session Single cells microbial genomics (in droplets)  
Tobias Wenzel - Institute for Biological and Medical Engineering, Chile

17:20 (CEST)
11:20  (EDT)
End of day 2
Day 3 - Wednesday 14 April 2021
TimeSpeaker
12:45 - 13:00 (CEST)
06:45 - 07:00 (EDT)
Quick overview of the day

13:00 - 13:30 (CEST)
07:00 - 07:30 (EDT)
Tips and Tricks Metagenomics library preparation with Nanopore
Jan Provaznik - EBML Heidelberg, Germnay
Nayara Trevisan Doimo de Azevedo - EBML Heidelberg, Germnay
Laura Villacorta, - EBML Heidelberg, Germnay
13:30 - 14:15 (CEST)
07:30 - 08:45 (EDT)

Live Lab Practical: Loading of Flowcell and start of sequencing run
Jan Provaznik - EBML Heidelberg, Germnay
Nayara Trevisan Doimo de Azevedo - EBML Heidelberg, Germnay
Laura Villacorta, - EBML Heidelberg, Germnay

14:15 - 14:45 (CEST)
08:15 - 08:45 (EDT)

Break

14:45 - 15:15 (CEST)
08:45 - 09:15 (EDT)

Computational Practical session: 16S analysis of environmental  samples using Nanopore sequencing technology
José Eduardo González Pastor - Center of Astrobiology (CSIC/INTA), Spain  
Jan Provaznik - EBML Heidelberg, Germnay

15:15 - 16:00 (CEST)
09:15 - 10:00 (EDT)

Practical Session
Kostas Konstantinidis - Georgia Institute of Technology, USA   

16:00 - 16:15 (CEST)
10:00 - 10:15 (EDT)

Break

16:15 - 17:15 (CEST)
10:15 - 11:15 (EDT)

Students talks

17:15 - 17:45 (CEST)
11:15 - 11:45 (EDT)
Networking time (Pub quiz)
17:15 (CEST)
11:45 (EDT)

End of day 3

Day 4 - Thursday 15 April 2021
TimeSpeaker
09:00 - 12:00 (CEST)
03:00 - 06:00 (EDT)
On demand feedback from trainer related to homework
12:45 - 13:00 (CEST)
06:45 - 07:00 (EDT)
Overview of the day
13:00 - 13:45 (CEST)
07:00 - 07:45 (EDT)

Panel discussion
Josefa Antón Botella - University of Alicante, Spain
Giuseppe D'Auria - FISABIO, Spain
Kostas Konstantinidis - Georgia Institute of Technology, USA   
Georg Zeller - EMBL Heidelberg Germany

13:45 - 14:45 (CEST)
07:45 - 08:45 (EDT)

Data analysis Practical session: Linux problems
Giuseppe D'Auria - FISABIO, Spain
Mariana Reyes Prieto - FISABIO, Spain

14:45 - 15:00 (CEST)
08:45 - 09:00 (EDT)

Break

15:00 - 16:00(CEST)
09:00 - 10:00 (EDT)

Practical session: Qiime2 problems
Giuseppe D'Auria - FISABIO, Spain
Mariana Reyes Prieto - FISABIO, Spain

16:00 - 16:15 (CEST)
10:00 - 10:15 (EDT)

Break

16:15 - 17:15 (CEST)
10:15 - 11:15 (EDT)

Practical session: Metagenomics problems
Giuseppe D'Auria - FISABIO, Spain
Mariana Reyes Prieto - FISABIO, Spain

17:15 - 17:30 (CEST)
11:15 - 11:30 (EDT)
Break
17:30 - 18:30 (CEST)
11:30 - 12:30 (EDT)
Students Presentations
18:30 (CEST)
12:30 (EDT)

End of day 4

Day 5 - Friday 16 April 2021
TimeSpeaker
12:45 - 13:00 (CEST)
06:45 - 07:00 (EDT)
Overview of the day
13:00 - 13:45 (CEST)
07:00 - 07:45 (EDT)

Panel discussion: from bench to computer - Critical steps in Metagenomic annalyis controlls, standards
Vladimir Benes - EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
Giuseppe D'Auria - FISABIO, Spain
José Eduardo González Pastor - Center of Astrobiology (CSIC/INTA), Spain 
Kostas Konstantinidis - Georgia Institute of Technology, USA   
Tobias Wenzel - Institute for Biological and Medical Engineering, Chile

13:45 - 14:45 (CEST)
07:45 - 08:45 (EDT)

Metagenomic analysis tools -INCA, MILC, MELP
Kristian Vlahovicek - University of Zagreb, Croatia

14:45 - 15:00 (CEST)
08:45 - 09:00 (EDT)

Break

15:00 - 16:00 (CEST)
09:00 - 10:00 (EDT)

Practical: MEGAN
Daniel Huson - University of Tübingen, Germany

16:00 - 16:15 (CEST)
10:00 - 10:15 (EDT)

Break

16:15 - 17:15 (CEST)
10:15 - 11:15 (EDT)

Students Presentations

17:15 - 18:00 (CEST)
11:15 - 12:00 (EDT)
Networking activity
18:00 (CEST)
12:00 (EDT)
End of day 5
Day 6 - Monday 19 April 2021
TimeSpeaker
12:45 - 13:00 (CEST)
07:45 - 08:00 (EDT)
Overview of the day
13:00 - 14:45 (CEST)
08:00 - 08:45 (EDT)

Homework assignment Calculations, and general Questions to
wet lab practical
José Eduardo González Pastor - Center of Astrobiology (CSIC/INTA), Spain   
Arantxa Lopez - FISABIO, Spain
Jan Provaznik - EBML Heidelberg, Germnay
Nayara Trevisan Doimo de Azevedo - EBML Heidelberg, Germnay
Laura Villacorta, - EBML Heidelberg, Germnay
Tobias Wenzel - Institute for Biological and Medical Engineering, Chile

14:45 - 15:00 (CEST)
08:45 - 09:00 (EDT)

Break

15:00 - 15:45 (CEST)
09:00 - 09:45 (EDT)

Homework assignment, and general Questions to
computational practical
Giuseppe D'Auria - FISABIO, Spain
Kostas Konstantinidis - Georgia Institute of Technology, USA  
Jan Provaznik - EBML Heidelberg, Germnay

15:45 - 16:15 (CEST)
09:45 - 10:00 (EDT)

Break

16:15 - 16:50 (CEST)
10:15 - 10:50(EDT)

Project Presentations

16:50 - 17:00(CEST)
10:50 - 11:00 (EDT)

Summary of the course and virtual farewell

17:00 (CEST)
11:00 (EDT)
End of the course